jump to navigation

How to Fold a Westie December 4, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in DIY, Dogs, how to, Maggie, Origami.
trackback

A while back I posted a response to the 19 Things Meme that revealed that the header image you see above is actually a picture of a mirror in my house that has little origami dogs standing on top of it, all facing the same direction. Somebody (Diane) posted a comment a couple of days ago requesting instructions for creating these little origami dogs, and I am more than happy to comply.

I have always felt that the West Highland White Terrier (Westie, for the cognoscenti) is the pinnacle achievement in dog breeding. And this easy-to-fold origami stand-in seems, somehow, proof of that belief. No other dog is so recognizably rendered with a sheet of paper (not to mention the fact that for most every other dog you would have to use colored paper) and a few simple folds. They are the platonic ideal of dog-ness. They are friendly, smart, determined, persistent, cute and fun. And they fear nothing.

I didn’t invent this origami dog. I suspect that like many of the more simple diagrams it was invented quite a while ago. But I here render the folding sequence as a public service to those who would beautify the world with more of such likenesses.

Start with a piece of white paper, the thicker the better. I’ve folded hundreds of these out of business cards, while mired in pointless, endless meetings. Business card stock works really well. First find the center by folding and creasing in the middle so that it looks like the diagram below. (Click to enlarge. I am using paper printed with gridmarks to make the folding easier to follow.)

1204071128.jpg

Then fold all four corners towards the center.

1204071131.jpg

Then unfold two opposing folds. Fold one outward and one inward, as shown below–near the one-third mark.

1204071132.jpg

Then fold the whole thing in half. It is beginning to look like a dog already. A headless dog . . .

1204071133.jpg

Then fold from one corner to the other, one side at a time. This forms the ears.

1204071135.jpg

Then the other side.

1204071136.jpg

Then unfold the front legs, which are now tucked inside the dog.

1204071137.jpg

Finally, you have to unfold the beard, and crease it flat.

It should look like this:

1204071139.jpg

Notice the resemblance to the real thing (I didn’t have a current action shot of Maggie, who is now a little too big to play table tennis, so I used a shot from last year)?

m1a.jpg

Comments»

1. 4urpets - December 4, 2007

Very clever!

2. strugglingwriter - December 5, 2007

Very cool. I like it a lot!

3. diane - December 6, 2007

Thank you so much for sharing!!! Maybe with some practice, I’ll be able to send as a gift to our breeder who gave us the wonderfully playful, albeit, sometimes destructive McDuff

4. caveblogem - December 6, 2007

4pets, strugglingwriter, thanks, much. Wish I could take credit for the design.

diane, glad to be of help. Do let me know if the instructions and pictures aren’t as helpful as they should be. Origami should be easier to learn than it is. I used to think that I was just stupid, because I could never seem to follow the diagrams. Then I went through a phase where I learned a bunch of techniques and realized that the people who drew the diagrams were often at fault. Now I fear I am one of the people who make it difficult to learn.

5. cars1919 - January 8, 2010

great looks just like our westie !!

6. Lourdes - July 25, 2014

This is the right website for everyone who hopes to understand this topic.
You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
You definiteky put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been writte
about for a long time. Excellent stuff, just great!


Leave a Reply

