jump to navigation

The Stronglifts 5X5 Difference December 5, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Lowell, MA, Other, stronglifts 5X5, weight training.
trackback

Last year at this time I was a 200-pound weakling. O.K., not really. But my strict adherence to the Stronglifts 5X5 Program for the past 6 weeks has made me stronger. But I didn’t know the real difference until Monday, when we got our first substantial snowstorm of the season.

It took me about 90 minutes to shovel the driveway clean (partly because it takes longer to carry all of the snow to the same side of the driveway and build a snow mountain into which my ten-year-old son can later carve a snow cave). Ninety minutes is about the same amount of time it always takes. That’s not the difference. The difference this year is:

  • Last year I would have been in pain, particularly in my lower back and rear, after shoveling for 90 minutes.
  • This year, I was in pain when I woke up Monday morning.*

Thanks, Mehdi!

*However, after shoveling, I felt much better.

Comments»

1. writinggb - December 5, 2007

Congratulations on sticking to a program for so long. Clearly it must be working for you to hang in there. No doubt you’ll be reaping the benefits all winter long ! :-)

2. Steve - December 7, 2007

Congratulations. One question: what’s “snow?”


Leave a Reply

