jump to navigation

National Novel Writing Month – the Exciting Conclusion November 29, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, writing.
trackback

Well, that’s it. I’m done–not done with the novel I’m writing, unfortunately, but done with the first 50,000 words. I’m only about halfway through my tentative outline, but I will happily put this thing aside for a while.

What did I learn about myself this year?

I learned that I am capable of sucking it up and writing, even when I am not making a lot of sense, even when I am writing stuff that I don’t think people will find very entertaining (and keep your comments about that being analogous to this blog to yourselves, please), even when I know that I will probably delete pages and pages of what I have written when I begin the editing process.

Yes, I am a writer. I learned that last November. This year I learned a skill that can be more important than writing. I learned that I can just type. I can disconnect my brain and just clatter away at the keyboard, coming away with 50,000 words.

I am a typist, which is like being a writer, I guess, but without the perks.

What will next year’s NaNoWriMo bring?

Good luck to all of you who are still hammering away at this thing.

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - November 29, 2007

Congratulations! I’m tantalizingly close.

I’m also looking forward to putting this thing away for a bit. I’m happy with what I’ve written, but do need a break.

2. writinggb - November 29, 2007

Awesome job, Cave! You have a lot to be proud of. All writing is revision, so it’s not a big deal that you will need to revise. Join the club, eh?!

Good job :-)

3. raincoaster - December 2, 2007

Congrats.

Will you be participating in NaDruBloDa?

4. caveblogem - December 4, 2007

raincoaster,

I hadn’t considered it and didn’t know about it. It sounds fascinating. It must be quite an accomplishment to have all of those bloggers drunk at the same time, quite an organizational feat. Some blog from work, which can make participation, um . . . oh . . .Not as fun?

5. w - December 6, 2007

I too have found out I’m quite the typist as well. Congratulations!

6. anxiousmofo - December 6, 2007

Congratulations! Twice in two years is pretty impressive.

I thought of cheating and writing a novel which went as follows: “Andy Kaufman sang ‘I trusted you, I trusted you, I trusted you, I trusted you…'” until I had 50,000 years, but I didn’t.

7. anxiousmofo - December 6, 2007

Um, 50,000 words, not 50,000 years. Must. Edit. Before. Submitting.

8. caveblogem - December 6, 2007

anxiousmofo,

Don’t even think about it. See, not editing is the first key. The second key to NaNo is to never read what you just wrote. And I believe that if you had started out with “I trusted you . . .” it would have soon morphed into the reasons why that trust was violated, and then you would have explained why those reasons were, somehow inadequate. It’s like what happens to mantras after you meditate for about thirty seconds. O.K. . . . after I meditate for thirty seconds.

9. Misque Writer - February 6, 2008

I am an instructor at Misque, a juried writer’s retreat for authors with complete (or nearly complete!) novels, who want to take the next step and prepare it to be sent to agents and editors. Space is limited to twenty people.

If you have completed a novel and think you might be interested, check out misque-writer.com or email me at misque-writer@misque-writer.com


Leave a Reply

