jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo Day VIII November 8, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in NaNoWriMo, writing.
trackback

NaNo is definitely harder this year.  It’s not just the fact that they don’t have those cool widgets for your blog that showed the progress you are making from day to day (even though having one again this year would make me feel a little better.)

One problem is that I finished the novel I wrote last year–I have already “won” this thing.  So this year my goal was to be a little different.  I wanted to write a good novel this year.  This conflicts directly with the goal of NaNo, of course.  The idea is to write 50,000 words, not the great American Novel.  But my goals are not that lofty.  I just wanted it to be better than last year’s novel, to be good, and so far, it is not good. 

So it is kind of a slog, frankly. 

Meeting the goal each day does not seem like such an accomplishment because I sucessfully completed my first novel last November.  And I’m also not putting the rest of my life on hold to do this thing, because fear of not completing it is not a motivation either.  It is especially not a motivation because I don’t expect the first draft to be very good, because I want the finished product to be really good.  I intend to revise it, so this is going to take away some of the pleasure of “finishing” it at the end of the month.  Although I will have written 50,000 words, the novel won’t be anywhere near finished.

Yuk, is what I’m saying. 

Comments»

1. writinggb - November 8, 2007

Yeh, I can relate. Writing can be really hard if you don’t feel “into” it.

I wonder if there’s another way of seeing this, though, like…er…um…

I don’t know. But it seems to me that writing because one WANTS to write something good (or at least better) is preferable to writing to PROVE something. One is motivated by the desire to reach one’s potential and continue to grow, and the other kinda stems from fear and ego. So can’t you just embrace your new approach and stop comparing the experience to last year?

I mean, it sounds like maybe one reason it’s “yuck” this year is that you expected it to be like last year and it isn’t. maybe this year is actually more like what “real” writers do — slog along with an idea, knowing they will revise….

Here’s a thought: If you put less pressure on yourself to be better, maybe it’d be more fun. I mean maybe you shouldn’t worry about whether or not it’s going to be better and just try to have fun with the rough draft process. Maybe it’ll just turn out better anyway because you are a better writer than you were last year!

Finally, don’t they say that week two is one of the hardest, and isn’t it week two now? Stick with it, Cave! Hang in there!!


Leave a Reply

