jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo 2007 October 3, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Idaho, Lowell, Massachusetts Drivers, NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, Other, writing.
trackback

Careful readers of this blog will note the new sidebar widget proclaiming my participation in this year’s National Novel Writing Month, which is held annually during the month of November.  These widgets just showed up on the NaNoWriMo website, so I grabbed one. Later it will be replaced with a progress meter, then a “winner” banner on December 1.

My job does not offer me the flexibility that it did last year, which is on balance probably a good thing.  But despite the lack of free time, I’m doing it again.  I plan on triumphantly completing my second novel, or at least 50,000 words of it, by the end of November. I may post excerpts of it, or even the whole thing, like I did last year.  I’m not yet sure.

I have been thinking about this particular novel for several months now, even going so far as to jot down the names of principal characters and a rough outline.  I hope that doing so is within NaNoWriMo guidelines, but I can’t help myself.  I am chomping at the bit. 

The setting of this one is Idaho, so it is obviously another comedy.  But it is not another Cthulhu-mythos-inspired comedy set in the fascinating world of university fundraising.  I’m sticking to the real world, or as close as I can come to the real world with a novel set in Idaho. 

Working Title: Being the Odds

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - October 3, 2007

Great! I’m probably going to write a similar post today. Any outlining advice (I’m an outline novice, though I’ll probably be using the technique I linked to a few weeks ago)?

Good luck with NaNoWriMo!

2. caveblogem - October 3, 2007

sw, I hadn’t clicked that link, but since I don’t have any advice about outlining I checked it out. So now my advice is to use Paperback Writer‘s method. It is not too late, I hope, for me to try it.

3. writinggb - October 3, 2007

Good luck caveblogem! It’s quite courageous to undertake NANOWRIMO. I admire your enthusiasm for the project!

4. Stiletto - October 4, 2007

WOW – good luck with that, Cave!

5. kaitlyn - October 12, 2007

This is a great thing. One problem that comes with doing a big project is that you don’t have deadlines, and this NANO thingie is just the ticket. I am setting up mini-goals, based on length averages and scenes I have yet to write, now for my novel. It’s great you’re doing this, and so exciting. Good luck.

6. Anonymous - October 16, 2007

Yep, I’m in…it’s great that we can all do this…and hopefully motivate/challenge one another. November 1st approaches, quickly. On your marks!


Leave a Reply

