jump to navigation

Tri-fold Paper Wallet with 5 Pockets September 26, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in DIY, how to, index cards, lifehack, Origami, Other.
trackback

This is just a variation on the other five-pocket index card wallet I designed a few months ago.  I made one because I was traveling out west this hot southwest summer, and decided that I wanted something smaller than 3 x 5 inches to carry around, something that would fit in the pocket of a pair of shorts.  It just needed to be big enough to carry credit card, ID, a couple fo business cards, and some slips of paper to write on.  I find myself continuing with it because I have found that, given my lifestyle and profession, I am rarely far from a larger piece of paper.

Perhaps the best part of this one is that it folds neatly from a sheet of 8 1/2 x 11 inch paper, the US standard.  For the most durable results, use vellum.  One of these lasted me all summer, touring the Grand Canyon, Disneyland, Mesa Verde, and the harsh environs and lifestyles encountered visiting Casa Flounder in Colorado.  The example below uses Southworth 100% cotton, 32# paper, which has been printed on one side with design elements of Persian rugs.

Make some marks 1 3/16 inches in from the two short sides, with the side you want showing up.  Make two other marks 1 3/8 inches up from what will become the bottom of the wallet.  (Click pictures to enlarge.)

wallp1.jpg

Fold the short sides at the 1 3/16 marks and crease.

wallp2.jpg

Fold the long side at the 1 3/8 marks and crease.

wallp3.jpg

Fold the other long side into the crease you made at the 1 3/8 marks and crease. Then tuck this part into the slot made by the short sides.

wallp4.jpg

 Here’s a side-view of that.

wallpside.jpg

And then fold into three more-or-less equal sides, et voila!

wallp6.jpg

Business cards fit, with easy access.  Credit cards can go in the side you fold in, for maximum security.  And you can either cut 3 x 5 cards in half, for note-taking, or you can purchase them that way.  Somebody makes them now, and I’ve bought them at Office Max.

Comments»

1. raincoaster - September 30, 2007

That is teh ossum. I don’t suppose you take requests, but I could really use plans for a snazzy envelope clutch purse this season.

2. caveblogem - October 3, 2007

Raincoaster, would that have to be waterproof?

3. Stiletto - October 4, 2007

Oh my god, you are such a nerd lol and I do mean that in the most loving way!

Hey – can you design me some shoes?

4. caveblogem - October 5, 2007

Stiletto, paper shoes with heels is a pretty tough order. How about some disposable flats?

5. Stiletto - October 5, 2007

Cave, as long as they don’t look like those butt ugly Crocs!

6. jay - October 28, 2010

its so cool thx

7. jay - October 28, 2010

THIS WALLET IS AWSOME!!!

8. jay - October 28, 2010

thanks for the trifold wallet

9. Bibi Vleming - January 30, 2012

Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my blog so i got here to “return the want”.I’m attempting to in finding issues to improve my web site!I suppose its adequate to use some of your ideas!!


Leave a Reply

