jump to navigation

Making Money September 21, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Books, Discworld, Economics, Other.
trackback

Back at the beginning of the summer I pre-ordered Terry Pratchett’s latest Discworld book.  And Amazon sent me an email earlier in the week telling me that it was on its way.  It could even be here today.  If so, I’m going to set aside the two other books I’m reading and start right in on it. 

I’m particularly excited about this one for two reasons.  First, I loved Going Postal, which featured the same protagonist as the new one.  Second, I majored in economics in college, and I’m really looking forward to seeing Pratchett’s Discworld analogues to Earth’s monetary systems.  What does Gresham’s Law look like on the Disc?  Will Ankh-Morpork have some sort of Bretton Woods? 

51prp2w2djl.jpgI

I’ll let you know.

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - September 21, 2007

I’m interested in your thoughts. I’ll probably pick this one up too. Pratchett is my favorite.

2. writinggb - September 24, 2007

Remind me who was the protagonist of Going Postal??

3. caveblogem - September 25, 2007

writinggb, That was Moist Von Lipwig, the swindler who Lord Vetinari coerced into taking the job as Postmaster of Ankh-Morpork.

4. writinggb - September 25, 2007

But, of course! Well, I hope we will get to hear all about Moist’s latest explots when you finish reading the book…


Leave a Reply

