jump to navigation

Nineteen Things Meme September 17, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in memes, Other.
trackback

Cerebraljetsam tagged me with this one.  I am lazy and coming down with a cold, so I thought I’d do it, but it is taking me more time than the post I had intended to do today would have.  Anyway,

1. Pick out a scar you have, and explain how you got it.  I have this scar on my thumb, near the palm of my hand.  I got it from opening a large (one gallon) plastic pickle jar at a restaurant when I was 19 years old.  I opened it with a bread knife (both the jar and the thumb.)  It took about five stitches.  I remember looking at the bone and all the cut tissue briefly before the blood welled up and spoilt the view.

2. What does your phone look like? List your reasons to buy it?  I have posted a picture of my current cell phone here.  My land-line at home looks like an old-fashioned rotary-dial phone, but is actually new, from Pottery Barn, I think.  It is easy to cradle between your head and shoulder while you are talking, so you have your hands free.  It makes a ringing noise just like the phones in those old black and white movies.

3. What is on the walls of your bedroom? There are a few paintings, one of them a diptych of the Palouse (click here to see a photo of the Palouse taken by vsz) painted by my wife. There is also a painting that her grandmother did of crashing surf (Northern California).  There is a Renoir print on the other wall.  And there is a mirror.  This blog’s current header image is actually a photo of the top of that mirror, which has a bunch of origami West Highland White Terriers marching across it.  The Westies are folded from samples of different shades of white paint (Oyster White, Petticoat White, Navaho White, Country Stove White, Crescent Moon, Dover White, Tackroom White, and endless etc) in recognition that the real thing, our dog Maggie, is never a true white. 

4. What is your current desktop picture? It’s a tesselation I drew a couple of years ago.  It looks like this:

sqtessemb.jpg

I moved the folders because I have maybe a hundred of them and they would make the tesselation difficult to see.

5. Do you believe in gay marriage? Not quite sure how to answer this one.  I believe that gays should have the right to marry.  I believe that all marriages should be, to some extent, gay.  I’d probably draw the line at requiring gays to be married, as well as requiring marriages to be gay.  Hope that covers the bases.

6. What do you want more than anything right now? I want to go to sleep, ’cause I don’t feel well, but I’d like somebody else to do my work for me first.  I don’t want to have to wake up and still have to finish this proposal I’m supposed to be writing.

7 . What time were you born? This is one fact that never seems to stick in my head.  I remember that my son was born in the morning, ’cause I had to drive to the hospital at some ungodly hour on a cold November morning, and I was worried.  A little help, Mom?

8. Are your parents still together?  Oh, yeah.  Their anniversary is coming up in October, I am almost certain of that.  It will be number 45 for them.  They set quite an example.  So my brother and I are both still on our first wives.

9. Last person who made you cry? Me, if I remember correctly, but I was telling my wife about one of my employees when the tears leaked out.  Could have been talking to her about my son.  I don’t remember which was more recent.

10. What is your favorite perfume / cologne? I realize that these things have names, and that some people wear them.  My nose isn’t very good, though, so I suspect that it is only the cheap, unpleasant ones that I actually notice.

11. What kind of hair/eye color do you like in the opposite sex? Blonde hair, blue eyes.  Nothing else comes close, although many very attractive people have neither. I wish they all could be California girls, I guess.

12. What are you listening to? Why? I’m interpreting this as a question about music. I recently bought an acoustic bass guitar (Ibanez acoustic-electric).  So I’ve been noticing bass parts more than usual, and seeking them out.  I find myself listening to Elvis Costello albums where he plays with The Imposters (Like The Deliveryman).  That bassist is un-freaking-real. I’m listening to Diana Krall and some other jazz, again for the bass.  This weekend I listened to Supertramp’s Breakfast in America album.  Some of the song’s have a tuba instead of a bass, like a polka band or Dixieland jazz band might.  Very cool.  In the car I am listening to either National Public Radio or a radio station out of Boston WMKK 93.7 FM (Mike FM), which claims to play “everything.”  I don’t know how they could possibly have time to play everything when they play Men at Work’s “Down Under,” and “Who Can It Be Now” several times each day.  But they play a lot of music that I like but do not own.

13. Do you get scared of the dark? I’ve never been scared of the dark, so far as I can remember.  Things are usually quieter in the dark, less busy.  So it’s kinda nice. I think that the things that are going to hurt you are the ones that you see every day, the things and people that are so obvious and ubiquitous that you don’t even notice them until they get you.  Those are the things you should fear.  Darkness makes you careful–it is your friend.

14. Do you like painkillers? I do.  Like the darkness, painkillers let me focus a little better, because my nerves don’t distract me so much.  Unfortunately, the over-the-counter stuff doesn’t really work for me.  The good stuff, unfortunately, is something I only get when I am really hurting. 

15. Are you too shy to ask someone out?  No, but when I did it was always terrifying and nerve-wracking.

16. If you could eat anything right now, what would it be?  Something frightfully spicy, I guess, to clear out my head.  But I’m not all that hungry.  Maybe a fish taco (cod, so long as we’re dreaming here) with some fresh, sliced jalapeño in it.

17. Who was the last person who made you mad?  My boss.  Big surprise, right? 

18. List one habit you have that has the potential to annoy people?  I’ve said before in this space that I am not consistent enough to really have habits, as such.  I do lots of things that annoy other people, of course, but I suspect that these things are not very predictable. 

19. Who was the last person who made you smile? Me.  But I was thinking about my son, who told me seven times during dinner last night how much he enjoyed riding mountain bikes through the forest yesterday afternoon.

I’ll tag prairieflounder, who has yet to interview me, even though he said he would, writinggb, and anyone else who wants to play along.

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - September 18, 2007

Entertaining entry, especially #5. I guess I don’t have a lot of comments except to say I read all 19 and was entertained the whole way.

2. writinggb - September 18, 2007

Thanks for the tag, caveblogem. Never been tagged before. I tried my darndest to respond as well as you had! Being new to the blog-o-sphere, I don’t know who else to tag. Is this like a chain letter and now the devil is going to take away my soul because the meme ended with my post? Or shall prairieflounder carry this forward for the both of us?

3. caveblogem - September 18, 2007

strugglingwriter, Thanks. It was worth it, then.

writinggb, perpetuating these things is exactly like a chain letter. So you are damned if you do as well as if you don’t. I was supposed to tag five bloggers for this–two is sort of a compromise position.

I used to keep a list of blogs that I could depend upon not to be offended by my meme-ing of them, but I lost it, somehow.

4. Stiletto - October 5, 2007

This is probably the coolest meme I’ve seen by far…now don’t you have to tag people in return?

BTW, I must question your taste…blonde hair blue eyes?!? You are the only man I know who doesn’t prefer brunettes. Really!

Then again, I myself am partial to German men!

5. Stiletto - October 5, 2007

Oh, sorry – I see you have tagged someone, but don’t you have to tag at least FIVE people?

BTW, get better!

6. caveblogem - October 5, 2007

Stilleto, I’m sure that if you dyed your hair blonde, the men you know would change their preferences accordingly. Ask the men you know now and I bet they will say brunette with blonde highlights. Oh, and consider yourself tagged for this one. When you get back from Vegas.

7. Stiletto - October 5, 2007

Thank you! I am back from Vegas and already obligated to create a note filled with despair as I was tagged to write a suicide goodbye. Don’t ask lol

But, since I am penning a final farewell, perhaps I should do this meme first.

8. Diane - December 3, 2007

Hi, Do you have the pattern for the folded Westie? My 18 month old McDuff just ate my origami Westie that was given to me when I adopted my first Westie 15 years ago.


Leave a Reply

