jump to navigation

100 Books Meme–my list September 11, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, Books, memes, Other.
trackback

This is a book meme that bounced around the blogosphere for a while.  I compiled statistics from a sample of 200 bloggers who have done it.  I’ll be posting some of the results later this week, but I thought I’d do the meme myself first.  It’s only fair.  It’s easy.  Just copy the list, bold the ones you have read, and post the results.  Don’t feel bad if you didn’t read a lot of them.  It is an odd list.

My results are kinda pathetic, in some spots, and I only read 35 percent of them (assuming I counted correctly.)  Found myself thinking that I am not reall all that well-read after all.  Some of the stuff in the list I don’t even recognize.  Some of it is trash, of course.  But there are a few that I really meant to get to.  Some of the ones I meant to read are also trash, I suspect.  Anyway, here’s my list.

1.   The DaVinci Code (Dan Brown)
2.   Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3.   To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4.   Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5.   The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6.   The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7.   The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
8.   Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9.   Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10.  A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11.  Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12.  Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13.  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14.  A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15.  Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16.  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
17.  Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18   The Stand (Stephen King)
19.  Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)
20.  Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21.  The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22.  The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23.  Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24.  The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25.  Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27.  Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28.  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29.  East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30.  Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31.  Dune (Frank Herbert)
32.  The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33.  Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34.  1984 (Orwell)
35.  The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36.  The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37.  The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38.  I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39.  The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40.  The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41.  The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42.  The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43.  Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44.  The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45.  The Bible
46.  Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47.  The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48.  Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49.  The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50.  She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51.  The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52.  A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53.  Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54.  Great Expectations (Dickens)
55.  The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56.  The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57.  Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58.  The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59.  The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60.  The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61.  Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62.  The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63.  War and Peace (Tolstoy)
64.  Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65.  Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66.  One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67.  The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68.  Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69.  Les Miserables (Hugo)
70.  The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71.  Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72.  Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73.  Shogun (James Clavell)
74.  The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75.  The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76.  The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77.  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78.  The World According to Garp (John Irving)
79.  The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80.  Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81.  Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82.  Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83.  Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84.  Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85.  Emma (Jane Austen)
86.  Watership Down(Richard Adams)
87.  Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88.  The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89.  Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90.  Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91.  In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92.  Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93.  The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94.  The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95.  The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96.  The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97.  White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98.  A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99.  The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)

Let me know if you want to participate in the study, and I’ll be sure to get your list in.

Comments»

1. Kaitlyn - September 11, 2007

Hi PGOP,
Have you seen my new little contest? I’m trying to get as many entries as possible this time!

best,
kf

2. Soph - September 11, 2007

This looks interesting, I think I’ll copy the list and put it on my blog too! Feel free to add me into your statistics :]

Lovely site you have here.

3. Cavan - September 11, 2007

I wouldn’t say 35% is pathetic…I did this meme, too, and you’d have to have a pretty eclectic taste in books to get anywhere close to reading a majority of them.

4. verbivore - September 12, 2007

Looking forward to seeing your results, especially with such an eclectic list. Do you what it is supposed to represent? I’ll take the list and put it on my blog as well – interesting idea!

5. caveblogem - September 12, 2007

Thanks, Soph. I’m hoping that it will be interesting. I’ll add you in.

Cavan, I’m a little older than you, though–like twice as old. So I’ve had ample free time to pursue many of these, particularly the classics. It is a strange list, but there are plenty of those.

verbivore, I haven’t dig into the origins of the list. I find it difficult to believe that it could represent anyone’s idea of the “classics” or “great literature.” But at the same time, among all of the fantasy and Oprah’s Book Club offerings there are a few of those. Perhaps other bloggers fielded more carefully constructed lists, but you can see why this one would spread rapidly in the blogosphere. I think most bloggers could claim to have read 20 or so of them easily.

6. Steve - September 12, 2007

A quick scan reveals I read just 9 of these. At one time I read 80 books a year (I keep lists): now I’m down to 30 – 40 (thanks in major part to teh internets).

One question: even after reading up on the concept, I can’t figure out why characterizing this exercise as a “meme” adds anything informative. The “meme” concept eludes me completely.

Maybe that’s one of the books I should add to my list

7. writinggb - September 12, 2007

I think I’ve only read 23 of these…but I would like to propose that anyone who has actually read all of Joyce’s Ulysses ought to get credit for about five books. Really. It felt like five books….

You should read Austen’s Emma. One of my prof’s in college said it was the only novel written in English with a perfectly constructed plot.

8. caveblogem - September 12, 2007

Steve, The part that is a meme is the method of propogation. People post the list, then they link to others, challenging them to do the list. Culturally speaking, it reproduces sort of like a pointless, viral, chainletter–which is an uncharitable short definition of a meme. If nobody passed it on in the way it had been, this “do the list and tag a few others to do it” fashion, it wouldn’t be a meme.

9. caveblogem - September 12, 2007

writingggb,

I’m not sure that it makes sense to give credit for more than one book. Aren’t some of the chapters written in, like, musical notation, dance moves, smellivision, taste strips, pheromones, and that sort of thing?

And I wonder what is meant by “a perfectly constructed plot”? That seems a little Platonic for me, like “all our plots are but pale ghosts of Emma” or something.

10. booklist « Incurable Logophilia - September 13, 2007

[…] I’m re-posting this list for caveblogem who is conducting another meme study. This time I’ve only bolded the ones that I’ve read – no […]

11. writinggb - September 13, 2007

True. Some of Joyce’s chapters are more journalism, dance hall tunes, etc. But it FELT like reading several books. Plus it is so deeply intertextual that to understand Ulysses, one has to have read a lot of other books NOT on that meme!

As for the Platonic nature of my old professor’s comment…ah, ur, well, you pegged him! Still, it’s a tremendously good read for those who love novels with well-constructed plots and interesting characters. A lot to learn there for aspiring writers. The protagonist is an interfering twit but her idealism and naivete make her charming nonetheless. She seems real to me.

You should read it. Really :-)

12. caveblogem - September 13, 2007

writinggb,

Yeah, well, the intertextuality, I guess. Too late to re-run the calculations weighting Ulysses as a 5, though. I’ll think about the Emma thing. I’ve nothing against the author, but it is a real chore for me to read stuff from that era.


Leave a Reply

