jump to navigation

Book Cover Meme September 7, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Books, memes, Other.
trackback

I got this from strugglingwriter, although Cavan, the originator of this meme is also on my subscriber list, so I would have seen it there.  Anyway, the rules to Cavan’s  A Book Meme are pretty simple. Here is a direct quote directly from his site:

Go to the advanced book search on Amazon, type your first name into the Title field, and post the most interesting/amusing cover that shows up.

I couldn’t decide which book picture to post, so I’m putting up both.

518yqw4smhl.jpg     51710zqbcjl.jpg

I get the lego thing, but is that pig supposed to represent Danish Ham? 

Am I supposed to tag people with this, Cavan?  These things won’t go viral on their own.  I know, I’ll tag some book bloggers. I tag Kimbooktu and The Abused Book Liberation Project, oh, and The Superfast Reader.

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - September 7, 2007

That second cover is quirky/great! Does it beat Apostle Paul? I don’t know and I don’t want to say. I’d rather not be smoted (?)/smotten(?)/smitted(?)/whatever before the weekend! :)

2. caveblogem - September 7, 2007

struggingwriter,

I don’t think it beats the Apostle Paul. But it beats the pictures of dogs that were on the covers of all of the rest of the books on that page.

3. Alex Andronov - September 7, 2007

Those Xenophobes guides are British and the most popular non british bacon in Briton is bacon. There were a lot of very popular ads for Danish Bacon in Briton. So other than lego it’s probably the thing we know most about them, hence the cover – I guess.

4. caveblogem - September 7, 2007

Alex,

Thanks for the insight there. Would never have figured that one out meself. Was pondering a connection to Hamlet, but it never really gelled.

5. caveblogem - September 8, 2007

How about this: Many people still insist that “Hamlet, Prince of Denmark” was written not by Shakespeare, but by Lord Francis Bacon.

6. Book Cover Meme - September 9, 2007

[…] 9th, 2007 · No Comments memory sorrow and thorn On Reading I was tagged by Pretty Good on Paper–thanks! Go to the advanced book search on Amazon, type your first name into the Title field, […]

7. anxiousmofo - September 11, 2007

Link

Alas, it’s a collection of photographs, not a book on how to raise frogs for $ $ $.

8. anxiousmofo - September 11, 2007

(Sorry – I should have pointed out that the link in my previous comment is to the result of the operation described in caveblogem’s post.)

9. caveblogem - September 11, 2007

Anxiousmofo, When I was in college I had this dream of graduating and moving to Jamaica, where I was going to raise mountain goats as a cover for raising frogs that produce hallucinogenic substances and secrete them through pores on their skin. From these I was going to make linings for straw hats and sell them to tourists. Never really put it all together . . .There should be a book like this.

10. anxiousmofo - September 11, 2007

That dream was just too beautiful to live, I guess…


Leave a Reply

