jump to navigation

Bees July 17, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Lowell, Maggie, Other.
trackback

Since my wife and son are on an extended trip, I am at home with Maggie.  So I’ve been going home for lunch and taking her for a walk around the neighborhood every day.  And then I go back to work for a few hours and come home for another walk, and to play ball somewhat endlessly.  I saw that there was a couple of trees down after the big wind and rain storm we had on Sunday night, so I walked her down there today (not our usual route) to take a look at them. 

Turns out the trees didn’t fall down, the nursing home had cut them down preemptively, ’cause they were very certainly dead (see picture below, clicking to enlarge).

tree0717071252.jpg

The woman in the bee-proof clothing is Louise, who was working with John, another beekeeper to attempt to save the bees by helping them to migrate their hive.  Apparently the inside of the tree was an excellent place to have a hive, with maybe 50 lbs of honey.  The idea was to lure a bunch of their scouts into this box that smells really nice (to bees, but it smelled pretty nice to me, too).  And then the queen would follow the scouts.  John didn’t think that the probability of success was all that good.  But I am hoping for the best.

John said I could go under the caution-tape, then asked if I was allergic to bee-stings.  I said that I am not allergic, although I remember that it hurts a lot when you get stung.  I have an aversion to bees.  Louise kindly took this picture with my cell phone camera. 

bees0717071253.jpg

Is that cool, or what?

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - July 18, 2007

I did try to comment on this yesterday, but the spambots must’ve gotten me too. Pretty cool pictures.

2. silverneurotic - July 18, 2007

I have a very strong aversion to bees. I got stung 7 times at once when I was 4…they freak me out now.

3. Travis - July 19, 2007

I too have an aversion to bees, although I’m not allergic. I’ve been stung twice – once by stepping on a bee.

But I do hope the effort to move this hive is successful. It sucks when you’re home is condemned, even if you’re a bee.


Leave a Reply

