jump to navigation

K.F. Gallagher Writing Contest July 9, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in blogs, fiction, Other, Rock, writing.
trackback

Kaitlyn has started a writing contest with a prompt from an old Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers song.

I love Tom Petty. I recall quite vividly the only time I ever saw him in concert. Even though it was twenty-three years ago I can remember it almost like it was yesterday (which is often pretty hazy for me). One of the opening acts was Men at Work, that flash-in-the-pan Australian group. They put on a very nice show, but the crowd was not treating them very well. Some guy down near the front kept pelting the lead singer with chips of ice, and eventually he began to threaten the audience member with bodily harm. Many of us (some 30,00 people or more) were hoping that this Aussie would dive down into the crowd and rip the asshole’s head off.

But when Tom and his band took the stage they owned the crowd. The music was perfect. The atmosphere was perfect. It was amazing. If anybody threw ice at Tom the whole crowd would have decended upon the assailant and tore him to shreds, I think. At one point, Tom was just walking around holding a bottle of beer. I think it was during an extended introduction to “Breakdown.” Tom eventually gave his beer to someone in the crowd. You would have thought he had knighted somebody, from the reaction.

When we were driving back down to the valley after the concert (which was in the Sierra Nevada foothills) we sang every song we could think of in that Pettty-ish nasal whine (although we probably sounded more like Bob Dylan than Tom Petty). What a day.

Anyway, I have an idea for a story, which is something I haven’t had for a while, and I’m in. So stop by Kaitlyn’s blog, check out the rules and join me, allright?

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - July 10, 2007

Cool. I look forward to reading your entry.

2. Travis - July 10, 2007

I love first sentence assignments. These are terrific exercises to put a spark to creativity. Good luck!

If I had a little more time I’d give this a go.

3. letters - July 11, 2007

Love Tom Petty too! I have a playlist of his best for when I’m out on a really fast run.


Leave a Reply

