jump to navigation

Which words do you own?–Dayngrous Discourse May 24, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, Haiku, linguistics, Other, vocabulary.
trackback

[Note: This is part of a continuing series on the actual vocabulary in use in the blogosphere.  Posts on this subject started here and will continue on a somewhat weekly basis.]

Today’s wordclouds and diagrams and Haiku are from Dayngrous Discourse.  Dayngr was the first B-list blogger to volunteer for this study, conducted on my “T-list” blog.  So I was very excited and nervous about the results.  And she has my hearty thanks.  I hadn’t read her blog before, but I can highly recommend it.  Reading her post of May 21 I felt bad that I have (repeatedly, wilfully, inadvisedly) broken at least two of her rules for good blogging.  So let it be said that I will be doing a post about myself later this week, partially as a response to being tagged with the Meme of Eight earlier this week by Canterbury Soul.  And I will try to comment on your blog more often, dear reader.  I really will.  There is no excuse, I know this.

So having got that off my chest, I took a sample of 28,000 words from Dayngr’s blog, February 1, 2007 – May 13, 2007.  Of these words 3,907 were unique, meaning that she used 3,907 different words in the sample, well above the average of about 3,500.

Here’s the resulting cloud composed of words that did not yet show up in any of the seventeen blogs sampled (click to enlarge).  The word “dished” comes from the attribution blurb at the bottom of each post, which says “Dished out by Dayngr.”

dngronlycloud1.jpg

And here’s the same cloud in a font called “Beware.”  I couldn’t find a font with the word “danger” in it. 

dngronlycloud2.jpg

And here’s the Venn diagram I usually make out of these words.  The left lobe consists of words that were new in the sample, that nobody else had used, sized relative to the frequency of use.  The middle lobe consists of words that everybody has used so far, sized according to how much more frequently Dayngr used them in the sample.  And the right lobe consists of words which everyone else sampled thus far has used, but that Dayngr did not, sized by freqeuency of use.

 dngrvenn.jpg

The words on the left are ideosyncratic, of course, and tied to her choice of topics over the sampling period more than anything else (and that of the others already included in the study).  The words in the middle seem to show a high level of joie de vivre, of zest for life.  And yet, the right lobe speaks of seriousness, earnestness–this is no game.  Life, the most dangerous game.  Life: Deadly Serious Fun.  Choose your slogan.

And finally, here is the Haiku generated from the words Dayngr added to the database by my evolving Haiku-generating algorithm(s):

Aunts and dads gaping
Toddlers of sweets at my spa
Right’s seizures shady.

I’m not really pleased with this one.  Not Dayngr’s fault, but not really something I can trace to the algorithms either.  It is enigmatic enough, but I can’t come up with any way to interpret “Right’s” non-politically.  I don’t think Haiku should be overtly political.  Let me know if there is some way out of this, would you?  That would save me having to think about it any more.

Oh, and I should have noted this long ago:  I retain no rights to any of the pictures, analysis, or even the Haiku in these vocabulary posts.  I consider them the property of the volunteer subject(s), and ask only a link to the post so that potential volunteers can find me.

Next Up: Second Effort and then 2Dolphins.

Comments»

1. Dayngr - May 28, 2007

Completely fascinating! This is so amazing to me that I am going to have to re-read this several times before I can fully digest it. Of course, I will be sharing it in a post on my blog. Thanks so much for taking a look @ my humble blog.

2. Yvette - May 31, 2007

Ooh, I love this! How does one become a volunteer subject? Where do I sign up?

3. caveblogem - June 1, 2007

Yvette,

You just signed up. There is one blog ahead of you. It is possible that I’ll get to yours on Friday a week from today. More likely the week after that. Thanks for volunteering. I look forward to reading your blog.

4. Tere - June 1, 2007

Sign me up, too, please!!

5. caveblogem - June 1, 2007

Tere, So you’re number three on the list. Maybe two weeks out. Thanks for volunteering!

6. Steve Klotz - June 4, 2007

Dayngr sent me. This is fascinating. But first: help! What are b-list and a t-list blogs? How do you determine the text to select from blog posts you’ll sample? (And why is the font so faint and tiny on your blog?) Thanks.

7. caveblogem - June 4, 2007

Steve,

Thanks. Dayngr referred to herself as a b-list blogger. She has a very good ranking in Technorati, meaning that a lot of blogs link to hers. I made up the “t-list” designation as a sort of joke. A few bloggers link here, so I don’t see myself as completely unknown in the blog-o-sphere (which would be like a “z-list.”) I’m somewhere in the middle.

My selection criteria is as follows: I go to a blog and start copying at the top. Then I work backwards, chronologically, until I get about 33,000 words. I delete the proper names and numbers and extraneous characters, which usually takes me down to 30,000 words or so. There have been two exceptions to this. In both cases I took every single word from the blog in question, because there weren’t 30,000 words posted.

Sorry about the font being so faint and tiny. I hadn’t noticed. It came with this template, which I have used for almost half a year now. Perhaps as a very large very shy person I tend to be drawn to small fonts. I used to change templates often, but I’ve gotten to like this one. Is it difficult to read?

8. Steve Klotz - June 5, 2007

Difficult for me, anyway — my vision is poor, not just weak but screwy as well. Long story that makes most people queasy in its details. I have to magnify your blog ‘way up to see or type to it.

As the least technologically competent blogger on the planet — evidenced by my incapacity to recognize the t-list joke as a joke — this kind of analysis is amazing to me. Glad she turned me on to it, and to your blog. If you don’t mind, I’ll add you to my blogroll as soon as I figure out what happened to my blog, which inexplicably vanished this morning. I may never find out, in which case, I’m done. That fast.

PS I assume “technoratti” isn’t a pasta dish, but more than that I’m reluctant to say. Thanks again.

9. Anonymous - June 5, 2007

My blog is restored thanks to a friend’s intervention. If you care to, I’d be honored to have you perform your analysis upon it. During the summer, I post something substantial M-W-F. Thanks again.

PS “Pretty Good on Paper” is on my blogroll. Hope it drives some hits your way.

10. Steve - June 5, 2007

Dammit. Another demonstration of incompetence for all the world to witness. Comment #9 was mine.

11. Dayngr - June 6, 2007

LOL… That was just funny.

12. Yvette - June 7, 2007

Yay! I’m looking forward to it. I’ll check back here, next week. This is so fascinating.

13. Dayngr - June 8, 2007

Quick question… Of these words 3,907 were unique, meaning that she used 3,907 different words in the sample, well above the average of about 3,500. Does that mean I added that 3,907 new words to the database? I’ve been wondering.

14. Balou - June 13, 2007

Hi. I was referred by Dayngr also (sorry; I’m late to the party). I’d love to have my blog analyzed also. And I’m patient so no hurry.

Thank you!

15. Because You’re Dying To Know - February 13, 2013

[…] the whole post titled “Which words do you own? – Dayngrous Discourse” over at Pretty Good On Paper. Makes one really want to break out the Roget’s Thesaurus […]

16. Because You're Dying To Know - DayngrZone Media - April 21, 2014

[…] the whole post titled “Which words do you own? – Dayngrous Discourse” over at Pretty Good On Paper. Makes one really want to break out the Roget’s Thesaurus […]


Leave a Reply

