jump to navigation

DIY Sticky-Note Pen-Loop Bookmark May 8, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, Books, DIY, how to, lifehack, literature, Origami, Other, writing.
trackback

I conceived this design to enter it in the contest over at Kimbooktoo, which closes on June 1, 2007.  I’m sending Kim a note this morning with all of this stuff attached, but I couldn’t tell from her instructions whether cross-posting our inventions was O.K.  I hope so.

Anyway, I am always looking around for pens and pencils when I need them, and it is usually when I have my journal or a book open and don’t want to put it down to get something with which to write in the margins, etc.  I have often thought that books should come with pen-loops, but many people hate to see books defaced.  That’s O.K., because you can also use the sticky note pen loop as a piece of note paper.  It unfolds quite easily to accomodate note-taking, then closes up again for later. 

Kim’s contest requires people to think of a name for their inventions, so I’m calling this the Bookloopenote.  It looks like this:

bookpenloopnote11.jpg

Or, when you use a purple sticky, looks like this:

bookpenloopnote08.jpg

Easy step-by-step instructions:

Step 1:  Start with a large sticky note (this one is 4″ X 6″)  Stick it to a flat surface.

bookpenloopnote01.jpg

Step 2: Fold it in half, bringing the long sides together, but only crease the fold about 1/3 of the way, starting on the non-sticky side.

bookpenloopnote02.jpg

Step 3: Fold the two non-sticky corners down so that they meet the crease, like you are going to make a paper airplane.

bookpenloopnote03.jpg

Step 4: Cut the corners off and discard.

bookpenloopnote04.jpg

Step5: Fold the pointy part up about 2 centimeters past the sticky side, fold and crease.

bookpenloopnote05.jpg

Step 6: Flip it over and fold the pointy part so that it sticks to the sticky side.

bookpenloopnote06.jpg

Step 7: Insert pen or pencil.

bookpenloopnote07.jpg

Step 8: Holding the thing by the pencil part, stick to the page you wish to mark, either on the top or the side of the book.

bookpenloopnote075.jpg

And this is a slightly better picture of the yellow-sticky version:

bookpenloopnote12.jpg

So, there you go.

Comments»

1. Brian - May 8, 2007

Hey, that’s pretty cool! I love post-it note hacks.

My favorite is still the post it note calendar. I can’t find the original article I got it from (I’ve been using it for months now), but basically each post-it note is a day and you number and arrange them like a calendar on your desired surface. It might sound dumb, but it’s been amazingly useful for me.

2. caveblogem - May 9, 2007

Thanks for your kind comment, Brian. The post-it note calendar thing does sound cool. One thing I hate about calendars is that there is always a week or so where you can’t see the next month without flipping a page over. And then you can’t look at the previous week, etc. Sounds like this would give you whatever view you wanted, forward and back.

3. Brian - May 9, 2007

Yeah, absolutely- what I do is rotate the post-its, creating a continual 30/31 day view with the current day somewhere toward the middle. (As my own special tweak to it, I mark the current day with a smaller, brighter colored post-it that says “You Are Here”.) The post-it for any day that hasn’t been marked up gets to come back in the next month, giving me warm fuzzies for post-it re-use. :)

4. caveblogem - May 9, 2007

Brian,

So, where do you put them? What size do you use? I think that if you have your own special tweak it gives you the right to do a post on it . . . :)


Leave a Reply

