jump to navigation

Which words do you own?–Are We There Yet? May 7, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, Haiku, Other, vocabulary.
trackback

[Note: This is part of a continuing series on the actual vocabulary in use in the blogosphere.  Posts on this subject started here and will continue on a somewhat weekly basis.]

Are We There Yet?, is the interesting and exciting blog of this week’s volunteer, Linda.  Linda added 630 new words to the vocabulary database, quite a lot of new words after seventeen blogs and a total of more than a quarter of a million words (I was expecting maybe 450).  What makes her blog so distinctive in the word sample is that it is written by a dispatcher of ambulances (see the vocabulary cloud below–clicking for a larger picture).

awtyonlycloudpic.jpg

I toyed briefly with the idea of putting together a word cloud that you would have to read through a mirror, like the front end of an ambulance, but work is taking a lot of my time and attention, lately.  Might be a simple trick in photoshop to do that, but I don’t have time to find it.  Anyway, I settled on a font called Flame for the bonus vocabulary cloud, because I remember reading in her blog about a fire (click to enlarge).

awtyonlycloudflamepic.jpg

There were only three words that all the other bloggers used but which Linda did not (the right lobe of the diagram below).  I don’t know what to make of them.  Some of the words in common with other blogs (the middle part of the Venn diagram below) that Linda used more frequently also seem related to her vocation, like call, for example (click to enlarge).

awtyvennpicb.jpg

And, finally, a new Haiku.  I haven’t had much time to think about my Haiku-generating algorithms.  But I lucked out again and it didn’t crash this time.  Other than words that everybody uses, like of, the, a, an, etc., the words in this Haiku appeared only in Linda’s blog, but some of them only appeared once or twice, and are thus not in the clouds above (although daisy, barb, pond and perhaps others were there.) 

The mull of a pond,
barb barb of formal sayings,
heartfelt daisy freed.

The mull of a pond makes me think about Aldo Leopold, of course.  And barb was put in by the Haiku machine because it is a monosyllabic singular noun, but could be understood as a name, I suppose (I don’t remember the context in which it appeared in Linda’s blog.)  Same with daisy. 

Not bad for a machine.

No volunteers yet for next week.  If anyone is interested, all it takes is a comment and linking from your blog to the post.  Let me know.

Comments»

1. Linda - May 7, 2007

This is really quite fascinating and I’m glad that I could contribute so many new words to the vocabulary database! I will most definitely be doing a post on this very soon. And I really like the flame font; I actually mention fire and firefighters quite frequently in my blog as they work hand-in-hand with the ambulance crews and a lot of our EMTs and Paramedics are volunteer firefighters also.

Thanks so much for doing this!

2. Dayngr - May 12, 2007

I’d like to volunteer if that is still possible. =)

3. caveblogem - May 12, 2007

Dayngr,

I would be honored to do your blog. There is one in line ahead of yours, so it will be late this week or early next. I’ll let you know when I have it done so that you can link to the post. Thanks!

4. The Curmudgeon - May 15, 2007

This is a very interesting idea and I’d be curious to see how my blog fares. May I volunteer as well?

(Here via Linda’s post on this.)

5. caveblogem - May 15, 2007

The Curmudgeon,

Absolutely. I just ask that you link to the post where the results are displayed. Assuming that’s okay with you I’ll put you in the queue. There are two ahead of you, currently. So I will have yours up in about a week and a half.

Thanks for your interest!


Leave a Reply

