jump to navigation

Which words do you own?–the108 April 26, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, linguistics, Other, parenthood, vocabulary.
trackback

[Note: This is part of a continuing series on the actual vocabulary in use in the blogosphere.  Posts on this subject started here and will continue on a somewhat weekly basis.]

The108 is the first “Mommy Blog” to be added to the sample.  You probably could guess that from looking at the vocabulary cloud below, which contains words commonly used by the108 that are completely new to the database.

onlycloud.jpg

In all, the108 added 660 words to the database (from a sample of 30,000 or so, taken from posts April 1 – April 21, 2007).

108venn.jpg

The108 is going through a tough time in her life right now.  And I almost didn’t post this, thinking that I certainly don’t want to add to her troubles by analyzing her vocabulary.  I decided to post this anyway as a sort of a reminder that there are highs as well as lows.  They will come soon, I feel sure.  Go to her blog, tell her that your thoughts are with her. 

Here’s another cloud of words used by the 108 just two times in her posts (the font is called “Damn Noisy Kids”):

2cloud.jpg

I’m going to return to her blog this summer and I am going to be sending positive thoughts her way.  I’ll take another sample and I hope to see more joy and hope in it.  I am counting on it.

Comments»

1. Kyra - April 26, 2007

Thank you so much!!! I’ve posted this in my blog as well. Thank you also for your kind words :-)

2. Moon Topples - April 30, 2007

I think your intention to resample the blog shows something about you, Mr. Cave. Scientific analysis can still be compassionate.

Just popping by to remind you and your readers about the GBA(s)FC #2, which kicks off May 1st over on my blog. Hope to see you there, especially since this whole thing is partially your fault.

Sorry to post off-topic.

3. Marilyn Domino - January 30, 2012

Precisely what I was looking for, thankyou for putting up. “Every failure is a step to success…” by William Whewell.


Leave a Reply

