jump to navigation

Once upon a time April 24, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Other, Rock, Science Fiction.
trackback

My son, Hoops (yes, I’ve finally decided to give people at least a pseudonym for him.  It is short for Hoopenslaaga, which is what my Mom called him when she saw him for the first time.  Her Scandinavian Grandmother {if I remember the story correctly and if I may insert braces inside of parantheses like this} used the word to refer to particularly large farm animals.  I would render the word phonetically if I had the time and the HTML skill to do so), asked to listen to Pearl Jam this morning on the way to school.  All I had in the car was Ten, which is a pretty good album, and the album that introduced me to the band, so I stuck it in the cd player. 

Like many Pearl Jam albums Ten starts out with a short little snippet of sound effects and music.  I noticed this morning that the sound effects were very similar to those in the opening of Ultraman, so I told him that.  When the next song, “Once,” started, he tried to impersonate Eddie Vedder’s voice, yelling “He’s our hero Ultraman!” 

It was pretty funny.  But the lyrics to that one seem to resonate with Hayata (whose character on the show is fused with Ultraman and can become Ultraman by using his “beta capsule.”)

I admit it. What’s to say?
I’ll relive it without pain.
Back street lover on the side of the road.
I got a bomb in my temple that is gonna explode.
I got a sixteen gauge buried under my clothes. I play.

Once upon a time I could control myself.
Ooh, once upon a time I could lose myself.

It’s like Hayata finally, after the ability to become Ultraman has left him (which apparently happens in the final episode of the series) comes face to face with his own bifurcated and dangerous existence. 

That or I’m reading to much into both.  It was funny anyway. . . .

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - April 24, 2007

That’s pretty funny. Nice father/son moment. I listened to that album many times back in the day. Vedder has such a great voice.

2. silverneurotic - April 24, 2007

I bet now you’ll always associate “Ten” with Ultraman and vice versa.


Leave a Reply

