jump to navigation

Which words do you own?–Mags April 20, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, linguistics, Other, statistical analysis, vocabulary, writing.
trackback

[Note: This is part of a continuing series on the actual vocabulary in use in the blogosphere.  Posts on this subject started here and will continue on a weekly basis.]

With a sample of 24,994 words taken (February 19 – April 10, 2007) from her blog, Ms. Maggie Moo Talks 2 U, added 652 words to the database.  What sort of words?  This cloud shows the new words that Mags used most frequently:

magsonlycloudvis.jpg

Makes me hungry, most of it.  The way the second-to-last word dominates the picture is what we call “irony.” Mags managed to use 3,579 different words in all.

The Venn diagram that I usually produce for this analysis is a little strange, this time.  Apparently Mags uses lots of words that you, dear reader, do not.  And the she uses all of the words that you commonly use, too.  So the diagram is strangely lop-sided.  To restate that once again from the other direction, there were no words used by all of the other blogs sampled that Mags did not end up using. 

magsvenn.jpg

So the answer to the question “which words do you own?” is, in Mags’ case, a lot of them.  If this happens again I’ll have to come up with a different sort of diagram. 

Comments»

1. mags - April 20, 2007

Yay!! I LOVE IT!

You’re the best. Thank you for doing this for me. WAY COOL. And also, I like that I use a lot of words other people don’t. That makes me happy.

You made my day….I’ll post this shortly with a link back. Thanks!!

2. Kyra - April 20, 2007

Oooohhh…. I saw this on Mag’s and got very curious! Wanna do mine?? Here’s the link to my blog:

http://the108.blogspot.com/

I’m not sure how it works or if you need a single post but I’ll let you decide :-) Thanks!!

3. Asara - April 20, 2007

What a cool thing! I’m so jealous of Mags’, could I get one of my own too? Pretty please? If it’s not too much trouble, that is. Thanks!

4. Linda - April 21, 2007

So this is where all of the “word clouds” that I’ve seen on other people’s blogs have come from! I had no idea what they were until I read Mags post. Very cool indeed!

Should you ever get bored, feel free to do mine, I might actually have some different words than most blogs considering the job I do for a living! Then again – maybe not!

5. Jeremy - April 23, 2007

Fascinating stuff. I suppose the words must vary depending on the blog topic. The words I use on my pop culture blog are very different than my friend who writes about golf. I’ll be sure to come back and see how this progresses. How many blogs do you plan to sample?

6. caveblogem - April 24, 2007

Jeremy,

Yeah, the words vary considerably according to the nature of the sample, which is probably what makes it visually interesting.

The question of how many blogs I plan to sample is a good one. I handn’t planned on sampling as many as I already have. I really didn’t think it would take so many to make the curve slow down. I am going to be doing Kyra’s next, then Asara’s, then Linda’s. If I reach a point where a blog doesn’t add more than a hundred words or so, I may call a halt to it.

Are you interested in participating?


Leave a Reply

