jump to navigation

My Thinking Blogger Nominations April 11, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, memes, Other, web 2.0.
trackback

If I have an over-riding goal in life, one which shapes my actions more than any other, it is to get people to think of me as smart.  I know that’s kinda sad, but I’m trying to be honest here.  And those of you who know me well will realize how often I fall short of that goal, um, the smartitude thing.  (See how gracefully I wiggled out of that vague reference error?)  So I was happy to discover yesterday that the kind and thoughtful strugglingwriter has nominated me for a Thinking Blogger Award

The thinking blogger is one of those chain-letter meme things that is making the rounds on the intertubes right now.  For some, this may detract from its impact.  Those who are nominees/recipients, however, don’t care about that.  We just strike the appropriate tone with the right caveats (mine is referring to myself as a nominee.  I don’t think there are going to be any actual winners or ceremonies.  It’s just a virtual thing, right?).  But for those of us who live to feel smart, it feels good.  So thank you, strugglingwriter.  I think you are smart too. 

I get to nominate five others for this award, make five others feel smart, and will do so in a minute.  But first a very short story about something else that made me feel smart and could have only happened right here in the blogosphere.

A week or so ago I was at work and checking my WordPress dashboard when I saw that somebody had visited my site from the comment field of a blog I sometimes visited but didn’t remember leaving a comment on.  So I clicked the link to find a strange discussion underway.  Bloggers were talking about a picture of a horse poking its head out of a car.  It was a funny picture, and they were trying to decide where it had been taken.  The blog where it originated was in a foreign language, but not one of those three or four that Americans typically recognize.  Stiletto Girl ventured a guess that it was Albanian, and said something like “caveblogem might know.”  She said this and hyperlinked to this blog, which is how I got word.  Probably this happens to people all of the time, but it is the first time it has happened to me.

I didn’t have a clue about the language, of course.  But since she narrowed it down to Albanian (actually, SG also guessed the freaking dialect) it was pretty easy to confirm (just look for an Albanian blog and compare).  Despite that, it made me feel wicked smart.  It made me feel like some kind of intellectual superhero. 

“Who could possibly know?”

“Let’s call caveblogem!  He’ll save us!”

Cue theme music.

So to my five nominees, below, I say, keep this meme going.  Make somebody else feel smart.  To everyone else I say loop people in with hyperlinked comments–it’s even better.  Also to those who I am not nominating, but who are on my blogroll: you make me think, or you wouldn’t be there.

I nominate the following five blogs for the Thinking Blogger Award:

  • Stiletto Girl, who (together with the sizeable group of people who comment on her blog) always makes me think about personal relationships in new ways.
  • Litlove, who gave me the idea for the linguistic experiment that I’ve been running on this blog for a couple of months now.  She adds things to my reading list that you wouldn’t even believe.
  • DavidBDale, who can pack more truth into 299 words of fiction than most could cram into a dissertation.
  • Anxious MoFo, who is apparently one of those rare souls who can engage in meaningful, polite, intelligent conversation about anything
  • Kuipercliff, one of a small but growing group of bloggers out there who are talking about technology stuff while running along the knife-edge between opaque and patronizing.

Those of you I have “tagged” above, here are the rules of participation:

If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote (here is an alternative silver version if gold doesn’t fit your blog).

Comments»

1. davidbdale - April 11, 2007

Most lazy bloggers would just accept the nomination and feign humility. Not you, caveblogem! You turn the whole process into a very clever, very funny post of your own, and still manage to get the business done, as if by accident. I expect no less from you, of course, and you would certainly be on my list of thought-provokers if you hadn’t already tagged me. I did, however, cross-post your nomination on my Cross-Posted page, and imported the links for all the other nominees as well. Thanks again. I’m delighted by your growing popularity and recognition (or is it notoriety?).

2. Kaitlyn - April 11, 2007

I’m crushed not to have made the cut! But too smart to let it get to me :).

3. caveblogem - April 12, 2007

Kaitlyn,

I knew I’d get into trouble no matter who I chose. So my strategy was to pick those bloggers who weren’t the obvious choices (for the most part–obviously there were exceptions even to this). Since you were one of the obvious choices for this award, I figured you would be tagged soon by someone else.

4. caveblogem - April 12, 2007

davidbdale, more than welcome. Perhaps notoriousness?

5. My Thinking Blogger nominations « KuiperCliff - April 13, 2007

[…] April 13th, 2007 · No Comments I’ve been without the means, motive or opportunity to spend kwality time online the last few days, so it was with huge amusement that I found the excellent Pretty Good on Paper had written the following on his blog two days ago: Kuipercliff, one of a small but growing group of bloggers out there who are talking about technology stuff while running along the knife-edge between opaque and patronizing [link] […]

6. kuipercliff - April 13, 2007

Hehehe, man that made me laugh. I’m still chuckling now, and wondering how I can possibly live up to your excellent description of KuiperCliff. I could run a series of posts like “5 Reasons Why Everyone Else Is Stupid”, or even “Obscurantism for Tyros”, but it looks like I may be on the case already!

I’m off to paint my windows black – far too much light is getting in.

7. Stiletto Girl - April 13, 2007

Well, don’t I feel like a fool [but a delighted one] because I have not been over here much due to time constraints. Thanks so much, Caveblogem – I know much of my material borders on dark, edgier adult topics so I’m uber flattered that someone in the regular world thinks enough of me to even add me to their who’s who list.

Just FYI, regarding how I came to the conclusion that the language used on the aforementioned Albanian site is not because I compared it to another [in the same language] – I broke down the words, narrowed the origin, and compared alphabets on Wikipedia. One of my dreams in life was to be a linguist…I have an affinity for other languages…

Anyway, I’m getting off topic. Now I will spend a portion of next week tagging five people. There’s never any rest for the wicked.

(And yes, you are the first person I thought of to help me figure out the origin of language because you [I think] are the smartest and most apt to know.

8. Stiletto Girl - April 13, 2007

5 reasons why everyone else is stupid? Now that’s funny.

9. litlove - April 14, 2007

Yay! I’m so thrilled to be mentioned here – thank you SO much, caveblogem! I’ve been loving your linguistic experiments and I wouldn’t even begin to know how to do such a thing, so you are looking one pretty smart blogger from where I stand.

10. kuipercliff - April 14, 2007

Stiletto Girl,

Feel free to find 5 reasons. I’ll just end up looking stupid if I do!…

11. Kaitlyn - April 14, 2007

cave-b,
Thanks for saying I’m an obvious choice. I hope you’re right!
kfg

12. max - April 15, 2007

Jeez. No love for the horse sticking its head out of a car blog?

If I were a bitter and vindictive woman I would kill that hyperlink right now.

Tragically I am not.

Damn you CaveBlogem.

13. caveblogem - April 15, 2007

Max, that was you! I should have remembered that and deserve to be damned, of course. Well, too late now, but I have blogrolled you to forever remind me of my inconsiderate laziness. You, Max, will be the albatross around my neck, the wings beneath my wind, as it were.

14. max - April 15, 2007

Wow, when I was a little girl and they said what do you want to be when you grow up? I always said albatross. Thanks, Cave, this is totally a childhood dream come true.

[Say, didn’t they kill the albatross in that poem?]

15. Stiletto Girl - April 15, 2007

Max is a doll!

Kuiper, you go first lol

16. kuipercliff - April 15, 2007

Stiletto Girl,

An outrageous challenge! I fear I’ll be unable to accept that particular thrown gauntlet, for five reasons:

1. my love and tolerance for my fellow humans knows no bounds
2. my hatred and revulsion for my fellow humans knows no bounds
3. er, I’m not really a “5 reasons…” kind of guy
4. I really wish you’d do it.
5. I am quite obviously a real wuss (despite being an Aries – dodgy Piscean cusp contamination)

I believe that settles the matter, and I look forward to a searing SG post, forthwith.

17. Stiletto Girl - April 15, 2007

You’re an Aries?

Say, you’re not single, are you?

Haha, just kidding.

Ok, I’ll add that to the list. I’m sure I’m hated anyway (well, loved and hated, no middle, really) so why not fuel the fire?

18. anxiousmofo - April 17, 2007

Hey, thank you for nominating me. Now I have to pick five blogs of my own…

19. And the thinking blogger awards go to… « Anxious MoFo - September 6, 2007

[…] to caveblogem and Bad Bad Buddha, for nominating me back in the […]


Leave a Reply

