jump to navigation

A Plea to my Blogger Friends (the ones with blogspot URLs) March 29, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in blogger, bloglines, Blogs and Blogging, DIY, how to, My other blog, Other, web 2.0.
trackback

Something has troubled me for some time now.  I have some blogging friends on WordPress, and some on Blogger.  I can keep up with all of my comments on all of my WordPress friends through the comments functionality of WordPress.  Unfortunately, when I comment on blogspot blogs I have to remember that I commented, and then return there periodically repeatedly to see whether anyone had responded to my comment.  I have added more friends with blogspot addresses recently and I am finding it impossible to keep up with them.

In a perfect world we would all be on WordPress, of course.   But I can understand the reluctance of these people to migrate.  Blogger can do things that WordPress still cannot do. 

About a month ago Silver Tiger had a post about this, and he noted that you can get some comment feeds on blogger.  I tried to get some of these and found that blogger had three different varieties of comments feeds.   What I want you to do, my blogger friends, is to turn on the full comments feed on your blog.  That way, I’ll be able to keep up with you better, and so will your other good friends. 

Here’s what you need to do.

Go to the help section of the blogger website here.  It will tell you how to go to your settings tab, change your site feed to advanced mode, and then enable all three types of comment feed.  After you do this, I can, anybody can go to their favorite feed reader and pick up the feed by using the following feed URL:

http://nameofyourcoolblogspotblog(moontopplesforexample).blogspot.com/feeds/comments/full

Do it for me, blogspot friends.  Let us have better conversations.  To get my comment feed from this WordPress site, of course, you just click on the little rss comments icon over on the right hand side of my blog over there—>

Or use this URL:  https://caveblogem.wordpress.com/comments/feed/

I tried this out today on my blogspot blog and it works, people.  For some reason Bloglines doesn’t update the comments feeds as often as they do a full feed, but I’m O.K. with that for now.  Just so long as I don’t have to remember all this stuff all of the time.

 Thanks!

Comments»

1. Moon Topples - March 30, 2007

Cavey: I like the example blog. You owe me a nickel.

I have enabled the comment feeds for now, but, frankly, the reason I had all of my feeds set to “short” was to encourage people to stop reading me remotely and actually come to my site. So if my stats start to drift southward, I’ll probably turn this back off.

No offense, Mr. Blogem, but since few people comment I need the site hits to feel like I am being read.

2. caveblogem - March 30, 2007

MT,

I have found my feed statistics, which WordPress generates for me, to be much more satisfying and predictable lately than the number of page hits, which tends to vacillate wildly on my site, usually having nothing to do with recent posting. But I know what you mean, and I still obsess over the hit counts, even while I know that for my site they mean little.

And I would much rather people go to my actual blog page, despite my awe and reverence for Web 2.0. I just put up a new header image. Will people see it. No. Most people read my feed, which now regularly rises above the number of page views. And I prefer going to the actual blogs of others as well. Even for people who don’t do design work and stick closely to a template, it is an expression of their personality that RSS readers strip out. And your site is often visually interesting in ways that are stripped out by feed readers.

How about this: I’ll cancel my subscription to your blog and agree to read it at least five times per week. But I’ll keep your comments feed, so that I can see what others are saying to your posts and see if you or others respond to my comments. And rather than send you a nickle, I’ll add the word “workled” to the blogging vocab database.

What do you say?

3. Moon Topples - March 31, 2007

Cavey: Don’t cancel your subscription. But do stop by once in a while. My blog is made of chocolate, you know.

Otherwise, I think it’s a deal on all counts. I have no idea how to get a true feed analysis (especially as I have at least three different feeds) so I’m stuck with page hits. I realize this is a poor indicator of how often I might be actually read. But so long as people are stopping by and saying hello, I feel pretty good about the whole experience.

I should confess that I got lazy for quite a while and was mostly just reading feeds, but have been trying to remedy this lately. It made me feel like I was sort of just spying on people’s blogs, rather than interacting with them. That could be why I prefer the page hit myself. It increases the chances of interaction.

Oh, and the GBA(s)FC is returning in May. Any chance I’ll see you there?

4. caveblogem - April 2, 2007

MT,

I don’t know how WordPress does it, but they tell me about my feeds, even breaking them down by the different types.

I will certainly be participating in GBA(s)FC, no matter how hard that is to type!

5. Andy - June 11, 2007

Hello,

I found your blog whilst looking for some info about RSS feeds and I found it interesting.

I’ve only recently started a blog so I’m still playing with ideas. I’ve added an ‘Add This!’ subscription button which makes it easy for people to subscribe with their aggregator of choice whilst also giving me stats. Also I’ve added a feedblitz form so people who struggle with the whole idea of feeds can subscribe via email and I get all the stats I need with that too. Finally I added an ‘Add This!’ Bookmark button so visitors who simply bookmark me with their social bookmarker of choice can do so whilst again giving me the stats.

Anyway I’m sure you know about these things but I just thought I’d suggest them for your blog as I think they do simply the subscription process for visitors who don’t know their RSS from their RSI.

http://www.addthis.com/
http://www.feedblitz.com/

6. some0girl - June 18, 2007

try cocomment.com — keeps track of conversations everywhere.

7. Idetrorce - December 15, 2007

very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

