jump to navigation

Which words do you own?–Alabaster Crippens March 17, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in linguistics, Other, tagging, vocabulary, writing.
trackback

I keep expecting that the next blog I add will not contribute any new words to this study, and that I will have to devise some other way to look at the data.  I have thought about this a great deal while I excise non-words and proper names from the samples.  One way would be to create a word cloud out of words that a blog uses much more frequently than other blogs do (so I’m not without a contingency plan). 

But there is no need to do this quite yet.  Mr. Alabaster Crippens added 839 fresh words to the pile of data that I continue to amass.  His most frequent addition was alabaster, which is not just a name, of course. 

accpy.jpg

I’ll resist the urge to psychoanalyze Mr. Crippens based on the next most popular group of words, but it is tempting to try.  I find it interesting that words that don’t seem all that odd continue to pop up in these samples.  I use the word “idiot” six or eight times a day.  Strange that it didn’t pop up until I added Mr. Crippens’ sample.  I’ve collected more than 100,000 words now, and 11,900 distinct words reside in the database.

And I have another volunteer for tomorrow or the next day, depending on when I get around to it.  I have never read EelKat‘s blog, but it looks to add some fresh words to the pile as well. 

Comments»

1. Alabaster Crippens - March 18, 2007

A lot of the biggest words are from my tags, but it is definitely interesting how many mundane words are in there. I can see how some of them are fairly distinctive to me…but it wouldn’t really be identifiable. I think you will actually survive a few more hits before you run out of words.
I’m also quite tempted to make a poor quality avant garde poem out of the cloud. With the right intonation it could almost sound right.
Maybe.
Thanks muchly, good stuff.

2. caveblogem - March 18, 2007

You’re quite welcome, Mr. Crippens. Raincoaster’s cloud had the same problem with the tags. I guess I could try to figure out how to filter out the tags. But it might be a little time-intensive to do it by hand. And if I did it with a find-replace, it would get rid of the words whether they were in the tags or the text. Food for thought.

As the database of words that I am constructing gets larger, everybody’s vocabulary clouds will change. I just re-ran mine and was suprised how distinctive it remains. I suspect that no matter how many blogs I add to this, you will be the sole user of the word “whilst.”

I would like to encourage you to create a poem from these words. I’d like to see it.

3. Alabaster Crippens doesn’t know what’s going on Fingerprints - Distinctive Writing « - March 19, 2007

[…] My word cloud has been added. It’s a bit tag heavy but I think has a couple of amusingly typical of me words in there. Also try to read it as if it’s a sentence…or at least read bits that are next to each other together…occasionally you get little nuggets of weirdness. […]

4. Stiletto Girl - March 20, 2007

This is very cool but I am missing something here (forgive me, it is 9 something a.m. and I have a slight hangover). What did you use to process this information?

BTW, I would think that one couldn’t help but psychoanalyze the subjects at hand!

5. On Constructing a Vocabulary Cloud « Pretty Good on Paper - March 20, 2007

[…] On Constructing a Vocabulary Cloud March 20, 2007 Posted by caveblogem in DIY, vocabulary, how to, Other, linguistics, Blogs and Blogging. trackback [This is in response to Stiletto Girl’s request for more information on how these word clouds were constructed, which was part of the comment thread to this post] […]


Leave a Reply

