jump to navigation

How many words do you actually use?–DAILY KOS March 13, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Blogs and Blogging, daily kos, dailykos, linguistics, Other, politics, vocabulary, web 2.0.
trackback

I may turn this examination of blogging vocabularies, which I began in this post, into a weekly series.  Although I am automating more steps as I perfect the technique, it is still a little time-consuming to do this every day. 

Today I examine the vocabulary of one of the foremost political blogs in the United States–Daily Kos.  (I should probably note that while this was the first blog that came to mind when I decided to look at the vocabularies of some of the “A-List” blogs, it is not one that I actually read.)

In the first 13,000 words of the sample, Daily Kos used 3,053 words, which compares favorably to my total from the other day of only 2,734.  The chart below shows data from the whole sample, which included 20,000 words taken from posts beginning with Tue Mar 13, 2007 at 11:29:01 AM PDT, and ending four pages later, in 500-word increments. 

dkestchart.jpg

(The extrapolation in the above chart uses the equation below.)

dkequation.jpg

The estimated total vocabulary of this blog is therefore 4,152 unique words.

Comments»

1. maryjunebrown - March 14, 2007

This is fascinating. I think you must be a genius to figure this out. Brilliant! Now if you could just create some kind of calculator…something easy…and sell it to blog engines–you could make some real dough!

2. caveblogem - March 14, 2007

maryjunebrown,

Thanks for your kind comment. A blog widget would really be cool to develop for this. If only I knew Java or something. If only I had majored in something important in school, like computer science. But no! I had to go and study economics and history.


Leave a Reply

