jump to navigation

DIY 6-pocket Index Card Wallet for Hipster PDAs-Side-opening Version March 5, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in DIY, Hipster PDA, how to, index cards, lifehack, Origami, Other.
trackback

People seldom comment on my paper-folding posts, although they still form the bulk of the traffic on this blog most days.  It still surprises me when someone comments.  This last weekend I got a comment from someone calling herself Charo that made me think a little.  Charo writes:

Hi there! I found your post while I was searching the web for an origami pocket briefcase. I must say, your idea is just what I was looking for! :)

I made the dimensions a bit wider, using a page from a size B4 sketch pad. I now use the outside pockets to keep addresses and blank sheets, organized with index card tabs. I use the inside pockets for my calendar and todo stuff. :)

I’m now thinking if there’s a way to turn this into a six-pocket holder :D

Six pockets, I thought to myself.  That’s a lot of pockets.  Maybe too many pockets.  But it is not for me to judge.  It is for me to give the people what they want.  This one is for Charo.

Like 95% of people in the world, Charo uses ISO-dimension paper.  I don’t have any, but I wish I did.  This design works much better with A3 paper.  Anyway, for those using the idiotic US-UK-Canadian dimensions, start with a piece of 11 x 17 inch paper. 

Step 1–Mark about two inches from each of the short sides.  Fold these toward the center and crease (N.B.: click images to enlarge).

6-1.jpg

Step 2–fold one of the long sides in slightly less than an inch toward the center and crease.

6-2.jpg

Step 3–Fold the other short side so that it meets the crease that you just made and crease that fold.  Here’s a side view of that:

6-9.jpg

Step 4–Step 5–Tuck the section you just made into the other one.

6-10.jpg

Step 5–Do it carefully to avoid tearing the paper and it will look like this when you are done.

6-3.jpg

Step 6–Then fold the short sides towards one another and crease in the middle and the unfold.

6-4.jpg

Step 7–Then fold each of the short sides towards the middle and crease. 

6-5.jpg

And step 8:

6-6.jpg

It opens up like this and has six pockets for index cards. 

rep.jpg

And you can clip a pen to it, just like the other design:

6-8.jpg

Thanks for the idea, Charo!

Comments»

1. Kaitlyn - March 6, 2007

hey caveblogem,
I’ve b-rolled you and thank you for doing the same to me. I’m honored.
KFG

2. caveblogem - March 6, 2007

Kaitlyn, thanks for the link to you too. I’ve been reading your site for a while. And since you’re on blogspot it is not as easy for me to keep track of you (WordPress provides its bloggers with an RSS reader, but it will only add WP sites. . . .)

3. Charo - March 20, 2007

Thanks so much for the how-to on the 6-pocket folder! What I did this time around was to use leftover christmas gift wrapping paper. I played around with the dimensions just a bit then pasted a ribbon so I could close it all up. :)

4. caveblogem - March 20, 2007

Charo, thanks for pushing me into designing it. I was a little miffed at the bulk of the first few designs I tried. Then I discovered Tyvek paper, which is hideously strong and thin, as well as waterproof. Right now I’m trying to get my hands on a roll of it, but many people here in the states use it to make large envelopes. If you cut the tops and bottoms off the envelopes and then make a flat sheet out of it, it is perfect for this design. Just one thing, though: don’t ever put it into a laser printer–it melts and jams the machine, makes your workspace smell like burning plastic.

5. Charo - March 21, 2007

Hmm. And I can see that Tyvek is also used as a wind-barrier wrap in construction. Also used for printing out banners. It seems like HP is selling rolls of this for banner construction. :)

I’ll try to find some too! :D

6. DIY 5-pocket Index Card Wallet for Hipster PDAs « Pretty Good on Paper - April 19, 2007

[…] new ways of carrying them around an organizing them.  The last one of these I designed, the six-pocket version works pretty well, and I’ve been carrying note cards in it, and using it as my wallet, for […]


Leave a Reply

