jump to navigation

Pirate Story Story Ends Happily February 27, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in fiction, history, narrative, Other, writing.
trackback

It took me quite a bit of time to decide whether to put a comma after the word “Ends” in the title above. 

Anyway, I finally came up with a beginning section that made the story work, so I’m sending it in to Shimmer tonight.  I don’t expect it to be published, of course.  But the editors claim that they always comment on submissions.  And then, in a few weeks, I’ll be able to try to rework it for a different market.  

The key, I realized (or probably more accurately my wife realized and then said it in words that even I could understand) late last night, was that I wasn’t having any fun writing it anymore.  No fun for me = no fun for readers.  It’s an ADD thing, I guess.  If I’m not engaged in the story, I just can’t make it work.

I was in school with this guy once who was substantially smarter than me (I was meaner than him, though, so most people never suspected).  When he was having trouble focusing on a paper he would make it intentionally harder on himself.  He would tell himself stuff like: Well, fine and dandy, you need to write a paper on recent holocaust scholarship, which you know like the back of your hand.  Let’s see how quickly you can do it in iambic pentameter.

Once I told myself that I was free to create outrageous, illogical characters, that somehow I’d make the story work anyway, it all just clicked. 

I guess I had some practice, too.  That was the fifth introductory section I had written for the thing.   

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - February 27, 2007

Good luck with that. You have a better chance of being published than I do (I didn’t submit a story). I’m with you on the no fun thing, and that is why I quit on my story.

2. Kaitlyn - February 27, 2007

I have a story with Shimmer right now, and a few other places. I’m feeling a bit deflated, so my response is to send out 5 more things tonight. Good luck.

3. caveblogem - February 28, 2007

strugglingwriter, I’m glad I sent it in, but I wonder if I wouldn’t have been better off quitting it back in January. I wasted almost a month beating my head against a wall before I started taking real chances with it. I could have been writing something else and having fun with it, but I was forcing myself to get it done before the deadline, trying to stay on task, being miserable. And practically speaking, I think, our chances of having our stories published are identical.

4. caveblogem - February 28, 2007

Kaitlyn, that’s a great response to feeling deflated. I hope to soon have as many rejected stories that I can send out. Good luck on your five, too.

5. maryjunebrown - February 28, 2007

Good luck!!! I think it’s awesome that you were able to get your story in…
I just looked at duotrope’s submissions tracker for Shimmer…it looks like 10 people have reported submissions there…so maybe that’s not tooooooo bad?? Don’t underestimate yourself!

6. Stiletto Girl - February 28, 2007

Good luck!


Leave a Reply

