jump to navigation

What’s your theme song? February 22, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Other, Philosophy, Rock.
trackback

My wife recently read an article, Find Your Song (and Sing It), in Real Simple magazine (written by Gail Blanke) about the power of music to motivate.  And recent articles in some of the blogs that I read, notably Tales from the Reading Room and Hyperpat’s Hyperday, have discussed how integral music is to peoples’ lives.  So it got me thinking about this stuff. 

Blanke’s article was about the motivational power of having a “theme song.”  The idea being that when you really need to be excited about things and perky and seem energetic, it is a good idea to think about (or possibly hum or even sing) a song that will get your blood pumping.  So it got me thinking about how I don’t really have one of these. 

Earlier in this space I wrote about how I always have a song going through my head, and that it is a particularly monotonous tune.  It can be driven out of my head on a temporary basis by other songs.  Sometimes that’s a good thing; sometimes it’s not.  (My son and I will be watching some Speed Racer tonight, so I expect that the theme from that will occupy my thoughts far into the foreseeable future.) 

And I do listen to (or think about or hum or whistle or even sing) music to alter my thought patterns.  For a long time, on my way to the tennis courts, I would play in my car stereo the song “Burn, Don’t Freeze,” by Sleater-Kinney.  But it wasn’t to get pumped up.  I did it because keeping track of two simultaneous guitar parts and two simultaneous lead vocals drove every other thought from my head.  It was a sort of musical Zen thing.  But that’s not the sort of thing that Ms. Blanke was after, I think. 

Anyway, does anyone out there have such a song?  What is it?

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - February 22, 2007

Anything from Weezer’s Blue Album makes me happy. Also, when I was younger my friends and I discussed what our “entrance music” would be if we were in the WWE. I always thought “Return of the Mack” would be funny.

2. silverneurotic - February 22, 2007

Unfortanately, no, I don’t have a certain song I sing to myself when I need motivation…though I do tend to get songs stuck in my head based on things that have been going on around me. Perhaps that’s a project I can start though, find “my” theme song.

3. litlove - February 23, 2007

What an interesting idea! I don’t have the one song that I return to, but what amuses me is to stop and ocnsider the song that’s going round and round in my head at any time. It’s always the case that the lyrics have some pertinent bearing on the situation I’m in. It’s never failed me yet!

4. caveblogem - February 24, 2007

strugglingwriter, I ask these questions, and then I feel so out of it. I have heard of Weezer. But what’s the WWE?

5. caveblogem - February 24, 2007

silverneurotic and litlove, my wife does the same thing. And sometimes they work like dreams, giving her hints into her subconscious, when she realizes what the rest of the lyrics of the song are.

6. Oscarandre - February 24, 2007

Van Morrison’s “Bright Side of the Road” does it for me every time.

7. caveblogem - February 25, 2007

Oscarandre,

I love Van Morrison, but all I have are cassette tapes recorded from somebody’s albums, long ago, sans liner notes. And as an American I often find it difficult to understand what he is saying. Which album is that one on?

8. Oscarandre - February 25, 2007

The album is called “Into the Music” – a great album, by the way. I hope you get to feel like I do when you hear it.

9. Kaitlyn - February 27, 2007

Isn’t it Into the Mystic?

I’ve had moments when certain songs felt like the ONE, but I’m fickle and I change and want other songs. I’ve also heard of having certain song for specific moments or moods, like when you need to bust ass at the gym, Brick House might be appropriate for those female exercisers, or if you need to stay on your diet, She’s A Bad MammaJamma might do. Or not.

It’s just that I’m not one way all the time, so I don’t think one song would do it.

10. Oscarandre - February 27, 2007

Van Morrison does have song called Into the Mystic but Bright Side of the Road is found on his album Into the Music.

11. anxiousmofo - March 7, 2007

If I had a theme song it might be Breakestra’s Getcho Soul Together.

12. hyperpat - March 12, 2007

About the closest I have to a theme song is Simon & Garfunkle’s Homeward Bound. I find myself singing it at various places (like bowling alleys) and odd times, though I don’t really know why (I normally am comfortably installed in my home, haven’t had to go on the road for quite some time now). As far as a motivational song that sometimes hits my consciousness, it would have to be Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin’, from the musical Oklahoma. When I find myself singing this one, I just know it really is going to be a great day.


Leave a Reply

