jump to navigation

DIY 4-pocket Index Card Wallet for Hipster PDAs-Side-opening Version February 6, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in DIY, Hipster PDA, how to, index cards, information management, lifehack, Origami, Other.
trackback

It occurred to me yesterday when posting that this Index Card Wallet could be folded vertically or horizontally, depending on one’s preference.  So here are instructions for the side-folding version.

Step 1–Start with a piece of 14 x 8.5 inch paper (mine has printed stuff on the side facing down, so that the steps are easier to follow.  I use relatively heavy paper, 32 lb., so that it is opaque.)  Mark one inch from each of the long sides.

sp1.jpg

Step 2–Fold these toward the center and crease.

sp2.jpg

Step 3–fold one of the short sides in 3 1/4 inch toward the center and crease.

sp3.jpg

Step 4–Fold the other short side so that it meets the crease that you just made and crease that fold.

sp4.jpg

Step 5–Tuck the section you just made into the other one as shown in this side view:

sp5.jpg

Step 6–Do it carefully to avoid tearing the paper and it will look like this when you are done.

sp6.jpg

Step 7–Just fold the short sides towards one another (top to bottom side in the diagram above) and you are done.  It has four pockets for index cards:

sp7.jpg

And you can clip a pen to it, just like the other design:

sp8.jpg

Comments»

1. brandy - February 21, 2007

Thanks for all of the paper folding instructions. Ive done several of the HPDA folders, and they are very cool.
I made this one with a regular 8.5X11 piece of paper and it works perfectly.

2. caveblogem - February 21, 2007

You are very welcome Brandy. Thank you for saying it is cool. I have adapted a number of other designs for index-card folders, but this is one of the only two I designed myself. So I’m especially proud of it.

I get a lot of traffic from these posts, but people hardly ever take the time to comment. I do appreciate it.

3. caveblogem - February 22, 2007

brandy,

I tried out the 8.5X11 piece of paper and I see what you mean. If you only fold 1-inch in on step three, then you get a folder of the same dimension. That’s pretty cool, because there are a lot of cool types of paper that are only widely available in 8.5×11. The pocket is a little shorter, but it still keeps cards in it just fine.

Thanks!

4. brandy - February 23, 2007

Yep, thats how I did it. I added a little tape too. :)
Thanks again
-Brandy

5. Charo - March 3, 2007

Hi there! I found your post while I was searching the web for an origami pocket briefcase. I must say, your idea is just what I was looking for! :)

I made the dimensions a bit wider, using a page from a size B4 sketch pad. I now use the outside pockets to keep addresses and blank sheets, organized with index card tabs. I use the inside pockets for my calendar and todo stuff. :)

I’m now thinking if there’s a way to turn this into a six-pocket holder :D

6. Ladylin - March 4, 2007

I plan to try this with stiffened fabric. Ideas abound! Thankyou for posting!

7. Steven Smiley - April 21, 2010

Made this today using paper from a Whole Foods bag. Love the design, love the functionality. Thanks so much!

8. Andrew Anderson - February 23, 2011

A really good design. Just made it, just loving it. Thanks for sharing with the world.


Leave a Reply

