jump to navigation

DIY 4-pocket Index Card Wallet for Hipster PDAs February 5, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in DIY, Hipster PDA, how to, index cards, information management, lifehack, Origami, Other.
trackback

It has been a while since I have posted a new practical origami design.  So I present the four-pocket (two verticle pockets, two horizontal) Hipster PDA index card wallet.  It may be the simplest and most useful design yet.

Step 1: Take a piece of legal-size (8.5 inch by 14 inch) paper and mark a spot 1 3/4 inches from the short edge.  N.B.: I have printed on one side to make the drawings easier to follow.

ff1.jpg

Step 2: Flip it over, fold the short sides in, and crease them at the marks.  Then fold one side 2 inches in from the long side (I know this should be a separate step, but I forgot to take a picture of that step.  So sue me.)

ff3.jpg

Step 3: Fold the other side down so that it meets the crease you made in the other long side.

ff4.jpg

Step 4: Insert the longer of the two sides (the one you just got done folding) into the shorter one (it has to go inside so that it is self-locking.)

ff5.jpg

Step 5: Fold the short sides so that they meet.  It should look like this with a pen clipped to it:

ff7.jpg

And it has four pockets, like I said before. 

ff6.jpg

So there you go.

See some other designs here.

Comments»

1. silverneurotic - February 5, 2007

I will have to try to make one. Hopefully I won’t make TOO much of a mess of it. ;-)

2. Adele Hensley - October 28, 2009

I just made both of the four pocket folders. I love the simple effective design. I like this folder a bit better because it fees more solid to me. Thank you for sharing these.

3. Adele Hensley - October 28, 2009

argh. it feels more solid.


Leave a Reply

