jump to navigation

January Writing Contest at Write Stuff Concluded January 19, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in fiction, narrative, writing.
trackback

I have lost my second short-story-writing contest, the January Creative Carnival over at The Write Stuff.  I have been advocating these contests all over other blog comment threads as a way of motivating one’s fiction writing with solid deadlines and low-pressure, low-stakes, quick turn-around contests. 

It was the first writing contest I ever entered, but the second I have lost, the one at The Clarity of Night having been concluded first (the Write Stuff contest, having taken place in Missouri, was creamed by power outages and out of action for a week.)  All in all, I prefer contests where I can get feedback on what I have written.  The prizes don’t really interest me that much.  As my participation in NaNoWriMo last year shows, token prizes are good enough for me at this point. 

So, I have joined Writer.com and Duotrope’s Digest, looking for others to enter, to keep the fiction flowing.  I will probably participate in The Write Stuff’s February contest, which they have already posted near the above link.  I’m writing something for Glimmer Magazine’s pirate story contest now and will probably enter the first chapters contest over at Gather.com.  I’m trying to push The Moon Topples into starting a contest (his idea, I’m just pushing it).  If anybody has any other suggestions (again, at this point I’m looking for firm deadlines and some feedback, not simply a market) please let me know. 

And if you have any feedback on my story, linked at The Write Stuff, above, I’d love to hear it.  I’d love to hear feedback from people who have written fiction, especially.  I’d love to hear feedback from davidbdale, strugglingwriter, Cyndi, and others I know write short fiction.  I imagine that the others who participated in the January contest would like to hear feedback on theirs, too. 

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - January 19, 2007

I will read your entry and let you know what I think. I’m still working on my Pirate story and I’m not sure if I will complete it or not. I am happy with parts of it, but I don’t know how good it is.

2. caveblogem - January 19, 2007

Thanks, strugglingwriter. You’re the best. “I don’t know how good it is” is often my problem, too. I attempted to vote in the reader’s choice part of the Clarity of Night contest but I thought I had one more day to do it. I picked a couple of the winners, but nowhere near all of them. I’m new to the “flash fiction” genre, most fiction genres actually, but I think that some feedback would really help me learn what others are looking for.

3. Moon Topples - January 19, 2007

Oh, caveblogem. I’m working on my contest, I promise. I am hopeful that it will start on or around the first of February.

And you are very brave, seeking feedback. I feel I am perhaps less brave. I am worried I will be highly disappointd with the feedback I might receive.

I will take a look at your stories and offer you my thoughts on them sometime this weekend, but I’m not exactly a critic.

4. caveblogem - January 19, 2007

Thanks, Moon Topples, for the offer. And I’m sorry about pushing you to hold a contest. I imagine it must be a lot of work, so don’t feel any pressure, and I’d be glad to help you out if you want (and can figure out a way to distribute the workload between Chicago and Lowell, of course.

I don’t know if it is bravery, exactly. In my seven years of graduate school I got a lot of feedback on a very different type of writing, for extremely narrow and diverse-within-a-certain-academic-type group. I got pretty bullet-proof, I guess. I think you have to actually fear something to face it bravely. I don’t expect people to like my fiction, but I don’t fear harsh criticism, either.

I’ll look forward to your comments. And as to the last, was it Rodney Dangerfield who said “Everybody’s a critic?”

5. Maht - January 23, 2007

Cave: OK, I haven’t read your stuff yet, but I thought you’d like to know that I have posted the rules for my contest, which will indeed commence on the first of February.

I have declined your offer of help for now, not because it would have been unwelcome, but because I wanted to make sure that you could enter without conflict if you so chose. I hope you decide it’d be fun for you.

Since you’ve entered these things before, I’d also be grateful for any feedback you might have on the rules I’ve cobbled together. They’re pretty thorough, but it’s possible I’m forgetting something.


Leave a Reply

