jump to navigation

Book–Variable Star January 13, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Books, Other, Science Fiction.
trackback

Another posthumous offering from the mind of Robert H. Heinlein, or almost.  This was written almost entirely from eight or so note cards and a few pages recently discovered in the bowels of the Heinlein archives at Uncle Charlie’s Summer Camp (what everybody called UCSC where I went to school). 

First off, it reads nothing like a Heinlein novel, with a few notable exceptions. The world in which it takes place is structured in a fashion similar to some of Heinlein’s writings, for example.  (It takes its historical back-story from Heinlein’s “Future History” stories.)  It is logical and internally consistent.  And it is very well-written, another Heinlein hallmark. 

All that aside, it is a tremendously good read.  I had no idea that Spider Robinson could write like this.  I’d always been put off by his name, I suppose.  Why would anybody change his name to “Spider?”  I realize he was born well before that They Might be Giants song (“Spider, he is our hero / Spider, get rid of . . . ,” but still, what is the deal?  It is only worse if his parents named him that.  What would it be like growing up with such a name?  Or maybe it was a nickname that he got tagged with early on.  “Hey kid, the way you suck out the insides of predigested bugs, we should call you ‘Spider.'”  “Hey kid, the way you lie in wait for your prey to fall into your foul and sticky trap, we should call you ‘Spider.'” 

Anyway, I’m going to mooch some of his books. 

Comments»

1. Moon Topples - January 13, 2007

Perhaps he used to say “I promise not to kill you” in a stylized fashion. Or maybe he was the only kid on the block who had a parlor in his house.

Anyway, Heinlein and his legacy aside, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve added a link to you. I did this because I enjoy your blog.

2. Stiletto Girl - January 13, 2007

Oh, wow, this is a very good blog. Sort of like a hearty steak you can’t wait to sink your teeth into. I could totally get baked and read this all night long. Unfortunately, I’m not wearing my glasses right now so I’m going to have to wait until I get on my laptop, snuggle under the covers, then fly back here on the magic carpet.

But first I need a new laptop cord. That would help. In any event, I look forward to reading more.

Speaking of steak, I think I’ll go have one now.


Leave a Reply

