jump to navigation

New header again, probably just temporary like the others January 3, 2007

Posted by caveblogem in Other.
trackback

That’s a view of Lake Champlain on New Years Day 2007.  It was a bleak, rainy first day for the year to have.  But the sun was peaking through (right side of pic in the distance).  On the far left of the picture is the top of some building near the waterfront, at College Street (Burlington, VT).  The green thing is a gargoyle, or a monkey, or something.  I don’t know what it’s doing there.  I don’t know what it means.

Comments»

1. Julia - January 3, 2007

Looks lovely, lucky you.

2. SilverTiger - January 3, 2007

I love these strange additions to buildings. Modern buildings are sadly lacking in such decorations. Happily, London still has many old buildings built in an era when the owners wished to show off their wealth and undoubted good taste. The City (where the banking and financial organizations are concentrated) abounds in luxuriant decoration and gilded sculptures on the roofs. A glittering delight on a sunny day.

Email SilverTiger

3. caveblogem - January 3, 2007

Julia,

I guess I’m pretty lucky, although not enough to live in Burlington, which is quite expensive and would put my commute at approximately 3 1/2 hours per day, driving. Its one of those small cities that has everything, except it has fewer people than you would expect. Smart people, owing to IBM and several colleges including the University of Vermont, but not many of them.

I do get to go up and spend a couple of days periodically.

SilverTiger,

London is a wonderful city. I got a chance to visit in 1990 and really loved it, although I don’t think I could afford to live there either. It always amazes me that anyone can live in places like New York, Paris, London. But so many people seem to manage it. I must have warped priorities.


Leave a Reply

