jump to navigation

Novel moving today December 1, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Books, Education, Massachusetts Drivers, NaNoWriMo 2006, national novel writing month 2006, Origami, Other, writing.
trackback

I’m moving the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo today, so I’ll post a quick link here, in case you have trouble finding it.  

Here’s a picture of the cover I made for it last night:

covershot.jpg

I have shortened the title a little, but other than that this is the first draft you are looking at.  I’m not going to start editing it until at least tomorrow.  At that, I’m seriously thinking about doing some reading about writing before I start with that task. 

Do any of you have any suggestions about books on writing?  I’m not interested in the kind about mechanics so much as something that can tell me some things about the more esoteric stuff.  Themes, I don’t know, stuff like that. 

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - December 1, 2006

Congratulations on the novel. Very impressive. I hope I have time to read it. This is the very reason I wish there was a device like the Sony Reader (only affortable) that I could use to read e-books in bed.

I don’t know about books on writing. Two I have read, though, were “On Writing” by Stephen King and “Bird by Bird” by Ann Lamont.

2. Mike - December 1, 2006

Vonnegut has a pretty good one too that I can’t think of the name of right now.

3. Name Protected - December 2, 2006

Well done. I have been following your slog via my RSS feed and I like the way you just doggedly got on with it despite obstacles etc and ended up a winner. Congrats
Name Protected

4. caveblogem - December 2, 2006

strugglingwriter,

I have read both of those, I’ll take another look, though, since I read them a long time ago when I had different problems with my writing (mostly those being the fact that I simply wasn’t writing any fiction at all.)

Mike,

I’d be interested in that, if you could remember the name of that. I thought that I had read everything Vonnegut ever wrote. I think I remember an essay of his that discussed his teaching at University of Iowa Creative Writing Workshop where he called the whole business triage and basically said that if somebody can’t write there is nothing you can do to help. I wasn’t listening too closely at the time because I was afraid he might be talking about me.

Name Protected,

Thanks a bunch. I sometimes see that people have read the feed and I always wonder about them, since WordPress doesn’t show me much info about them. I took a look at your site and I have to admit, I am very, very confused about the whole thing. What’s the deal? Or wouldn’t I understand because I’m an American?


Leave a Reply

