jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo–Day Two November 2, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Books, NaNoWriMo 2006, national novel writing month 2006, Other, writing.
trackback

Two thousand and thirty-one words today (2,031).  So I am now 719 words ahead of schedule.  Looked at another way, I can afford to not write anything for almost an entire morning before I fall behind.  

Can I keep up the pace?  Today, believe it or not, was actually easier than yesterday.  Some of the characters are taking shape (in my mind, at least, can’t vouch for how they are coming out on the page, unedited.)  And I keep adding to the outline as I go, as well.  The story seems capable of writing itself in a couple of weeks.  I’ll still have to type it, though. 

 Whoops, the second part of chapter one is tacked onto this page here.

Comments»

1. b1onder - November 2, 2006

apparantly the nanowrimo is getting a lot of action. I just spent anout fifteen minutes trying to get into some of their sites for some direction, to no avail. they are being overwhelmed. So I will ask you: What formula did you use to discover how many words you had completed? I just took a single line (about sixteen normal words) and multiplied by how many lines I had. Sound reasonable?

2. caveblogem - November 2, 2006

b1onder, Yeah, the NaNoWriMo site is bombarded. They are going to have to buy some bandwidth or something or they’ll crash when people start submitting things for official tallies.

I have been composing in MS Word, which has a wordcount function under the pulldown menu entitled “tools.” Probably your program has a similar utility. Most word processing programs do. Should be much easier than counting.

For an official tally, assuming NaNoWriMo.org ever gets sufficient bandwidth to handle such things, you will eventually go to http://www.nanowrimo.org/modules/wordcount and upload your text file there. I think that you’d have to save the file as text before uploading it. Other than that it should be pretty straightforward.


Leave a Reply

