jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo–Day One November 1, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Books, Massachusetts Drivers, NaNoWriMo 2006, national novel writing month 2006, Other, writing.
trackback

Well, I managed to knock out 2,022 words today, which is ahead of schedule a little.  The daily average has to be 1,667.  They say that the second week is the hardest, so I’m trying to put some words in the bank. 

It was a little hard to carve out time for this.  And it is a little more complicated than I though it would be.  I thought it would be so much faster to write when I get to simply make it all up.  I don’t have to cite sources or quote people correctly, etc.  But you do have to keep all of the names straight and keep the story moving and make sure that it makes sense.  Well, mostly makes sense. 

Today’s output can be found on this page.  That way the book will flow in the right direction, top to bottom, and this blog can flow in its right direction, bottom to top.  Everybody’s happy that way.  So now I’m going to bed.

Comments»

1. strugglingwriter - November 2, 2006

That is excellent. Good job. I managed to write 720 words in an hour last night before going to bed and feel like I have some momentum. My goal for today is 800 words at lunch at work and 800 at home at night. We will see.

2. caveblogem - November 2, 2006

Thank you, strugglingwriter. Seven hundred twenty words is a pretty good hour, I’d say.

It certainly is difficult to do this and hold down a full-time job. Last night after I posted my stuff I was reading, ’cause I have to or I can’t sleep, and saw this quote by Kurt Vonnegut (in A Man Without a Country, 2005): “If you want to really hurt your parents, and you don’t have the nerve to be gay, the least you can do is go into the arts. I’m not kidding. The arts are not a way to make a living.”

So I have to work. But Vonnegut goes on to say

“[The arts] are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possibly can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.”

Keep it up, everyone.


Leave a Reply

