jump to navigation

Designs for Index Card Wallets/Folders October 28, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Hipster PDA, Origami, Other.
trackback

Over the last few months I’ve experimented a little with materials and designs for these things.  Click on the thumbnail for a larger picture. 

I really like how durable various grocery bags are.  Here’s one made from a University of Massachusetts Amherst bookstore bag.

umass_bookstore_bag.jpg

And here’s a Trader Joe’s bag.  I have lots of these because they change the design every so often.

trader_joes_bag.jpg

Here’s a Starbucks bag that I liked.

starbucks_bag.jpg

And a bag from North Country Books that turned out pretty cool.

northcountrybooks_bag.jpg

Free maps that you get at rest stops are pretty cool looking.  This is one for the White Mountain region of New Hampshire.

nh_tourism_map.jpg

Here’s a bag that I cut to 8 1/2 by 11 inches and printed a logo from some sort of microbiological library in the U.K. that I found on the net.  Durable and chic.

microbiologists_on_bag.jpg

You can buy a lot of different papers now that they make for scrapbooking.  Here’s one that I keep blogging notes on.

fancy_typewriter_paper.jpg

And here’s the one I use for notes on music I’m writing (yeah, it’s almost empty.)

fancy_music_paper.jpg

And here’s one that has cool french cursive writing on it.

fancy_french_script.jpg

And something I got at Charette in Woburn that’s black paper with silver elephants.

elephants.jpg

And some white paper printed with a pdf version of the input-output, sources and uses diagram that Lawrence Livermore labs in California put in some report for 2002.

energy_io.jpg

And a map of the Clearwater National Forest area of Idaho.

clearwater_forest_map.jpg

And some downloaded cave painting that I printed onto a recycled manila envelope.

cave_paintings_on_bag.jpg

And one of my favorites, from Crow Bookshop in Burlington Vermont.

crow_bookstore_bag.jpg

Comments»

1. davidbdale - October 29, 2006

These are beautiful and intriguing [nom de blog] and they photograph like pages for a museum catalog. I’ve only been on your blog and already I’m seeing quite a range of interests. Origami wallets, malevolent penguins, papaerbackswapping, NaNoWriMo. By the way, thanks for the tip about paperback swaps. We’re having extremely high winds this year, too. Should we blame it on global warming, you think?

2. caveblogem - October 29, 2006

Thanks for your comments, David. I guess I’m one of those jack-of-many-trades-master-of-none sorts of guys. The obvious specialization of most blogs (yours included) is something I find very appealing, but I certainly couldn’t emulate that sort of thing. Attention Deficit Disorder, I suppose. Once I get pretty good at something I find that it can not longer hold my attention for very long. I suppose I am luck that there are so many things that are so difficult to master.

Regarding the global warming comment, it is so difficult to tell when someone is pulling one’s leg on the net. For me this has been a serious and politically charged subject for the last few months, and I have attempted to stay away from any conversations about it. Experts tell me, though, that local phenomena simply cannot be cited as evidence (in the short run) either way. This wind is giving me sinus headaches, though

3. Anonymous - May 3, 2011

ICQ Chat Rooms Создать ICQ чат бесплатно купить заказать аренда раскрутка чатов заработать на icq isq видеоуроки установка на ПК jimbot боты информеры низкие цены обучение советы помощь партнеры часто задаваемые вопросы как платить на qiwi и пользоваться все просто и доступно есть оплата на wemnoney и qiwi заказать самый лучший чат и установить на сервер можно заработать с нами без проблем номера и icq uin юины юин уин тоже естьСоздать ICQ чат бесплатно купить заказать аренда раскрутка чатов заработать на icq isq видеоуроки установка на ПК jimbot боты информеры низкие цены обучение советы помощь партнеры часто задаваемые вопросы как платить на qiwi и пользоваться все просто и доступно есть оплата на wemnoney и qiwi заказать самый лучший чат и установить на сервер можно заработать с нами без проблем номера и icq uin юины юин уин тоже есть


Leave a Reply

