jump to navigation

Books–The Last Continent October 11, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Books, luck or time, Other.
trackback

I had a lot of trouble with this one, despite the fact that Pratchett writes really well and I have actually read this one before.  In fact, I read all of the Discword books during a 6-month period of 2005, just after Jon Carroll mentioned them in his daily (more or less) column for the San Francisco Chronicle.  Thus, I may have not internalized them as much as I would like to have done. 

Anyway, this one features Rincewind, the wizard who cannot actually do magic.   (Other wizards living on Discworld do not do magic, mostly, but could, if they really had to.)  For some reason that I cannot immediately recall, Rincewind is on Fourecks (XXXX) which is like Australia.  The other wizards of unseen University are attempting to find him, but they are searching in the wrong time. 

Mainly, unfortunately, the book’s humor centers to a large extent, upon knowledge of Australia that I simply do not possess.  I know this because I just looked up the book on Lspace.  Perhaps it would be funnier if I had such knowledge.  But when you have to have the jokes explained to you it kind-of kills the humor. 

And the Rincewind novels have never been my favorites.   I much prefer the novels centered on Sam Vimes, or on the Witches of Lancre, or on Death and his adopted family. 

So, if I ever read this again, I’ll be sure to visit Lspace for a basic primer a few weeks before.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

