jump to navigation

Making a Paper Staple Cover September 25, 2006

Posted by caveblogem in Origami, Other.
trackback

O.K., this one seems a little odd, I admit.  But let’s just say you want to be able to give somebody a fancy document without using a folder and you don’t want the staple to scratch her desk.  This is modeled on a page corner fold I saw a few years back, which according to Rick Beech was designed by Michael LaFosse (see Beech’s The Origami Handbook, a startlingly good guide for the beginnner.)

Anyway, you start with a square piece of paper, about 2 1/2 inches.  Fold diagonally.

01-340.jpg

Now fold diagonally again. 

02-340.jpg

Then unfold and fold the bottom corner up.

03-340.jpg

Flip and do the same thing to the other side.

04-340.jpg

Then take the bottom corner and fold it up. 

05-340.jpg

Do the same to the other side.

06-340.jpg

Now unfold the whole thing and staple it with the document like this:

07-340.jpg

And refold it so that you get the picture below (shown from the back of the document now.

10-340.jpg

Now flip it to the front and tuck that corner into the inside (I probably should precrease this part but never seem to remember to do that).

 08-340.jpg

Now the other corner has to tuck into the back, otherwise it will not stay together correctly.

09-340.jpg

So now this thing looks like this from the back.

11-340.jpg

And from the front it looks like this. 

12-340.jpg

Which actually is better with paper that it all the same color, although that wouldn’t be as easy to see.

Comments»

1. Dave - November 30, 2009

Ok…I feel pretty dumb after trying to figure this out for an hour now. Any chance of putting numbers on the corners or something, cause I can’t tell from your pictures.

2. caveblogem - December 1, 2009

Dave,

Thanks for your comment. There is something inherently difficult about this thing, I think, that goes beyond the poor instructions above. I still have to refer to them everytime I attempt this.

I’ll see if I can get up a better version of this today sometime.

3. Dave - December 3, 2009

Thanks caveblogem, I know it’s a lot of work to put something like this together to post, but it would sure make a difference. Originally I had been looking online to find them commercially, with no luck. Our local “Staples” store didn’t know what I was even talking about for awhile. And then I found your post, and ran out and bought some nice black heavy weight paper…..but of course ran into problems…..but all set to try again.

4. Staple Cover Redux « Pretty Good on Paper - December 3, 2009

[…] It’s not often my paper folding posts get comments on them. Somebody noted that my previous post on paper staple covers was difficult to follow. I put this one together counting on the pictures telling the stories. Hope […]

5. http://yahoo.com - February 9, 2013

I really blog likewise and I am writing a little something similar to this specific blog post,
“Making a Paper Staple Cover Pretty Good on Paper”.

Do you really care in cases where I actuallyuse some
of your tips? Regards ,Mai

6. get-morefollowers.com - June 24, 2014

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i camje tto “return the favor”.I am trying to find things too enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of yolur
ideas!!

7. cure anxiety attacks - October 14, 2014

Currently it looks like Movable Type is the best blogging platform out there right now.
(from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?


Leave a Reply

